Core’dinations Design Team Call

Core’dinations Design Team Call

Hi everyone, I hope you are having a wonderful Sunday!

I have a different type of post today.  A couple of month’s ago Core’dinations Cardstock was the sponsor on the Craftwell blog and I had an opportunity to work with their fabulous cardstock.  Well, now there is no going back!  In my opinion there is no better cardstock on the market than Core’dinations so when I saw the Core’dinations Design Team call I KNEW I just had to throw my name in the ring!  Just in case  you are wondering why I am doing this via a blog post is because in the DT call instructions this is how they wanted to see the application.

I’ve created a brand new project and will share a few oldies but goodies as well.   My only problem with this lovely cardstock is I only have a small amount of it and it does not seem to be readily available locally here so I use it carefully in my crafting LOL!

For my first project I want to share with you a Haunted house I created for this DT call made from the Haunted Forest SVG Kit from SVGCuts.com.  You can find the detailed assembly tutorial there.  All of the trim pieces are made using either the Core Essentials Neutrals Paper, Dark Paper or Kraft Core Nostalgic Collections and are embossed and sanded using the Core Essentials Sand It tool.

Joann-Larkin-Haunted-House

Joann-Larkin-Haunted-House-Front

Joann-Larkin-Haunted-House-Side

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Dark Paper
Core Essentials Kraft Core Nostalgic Collection
Core Essentials Sand It
M-Bossibilities Dainty Dots
Bitty Blossoms
Graphic 45 – An Errie Tale Collection
Graphic 45 – Steampunk Spells Collection
EB-WHT-BN1-2T

My next project is a fun Vintage Rectangle Box that I give to friend at work.  Here’s a look at how it turned out.

Joann-Larkin-Vinage-Rectangle-Box

Joann-Larkin-Vinage-Rectangle-Box1

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Sand It
Spellbinders 5 x 7 Mystical Embrace
Maja Designs – Sofiero Princess Margareta’s Garden Paper
EB-WHT-BN1-2T

I absolutely love Christmas time so I just had to create a fun little vintage Christmas card.

Joann-Larkin-Vintage-Scroll-Christmas-Card

Joann-Larkin-Vintage-Scroll-Christmas-Card-Closeup

and who can forget the flowers!

Joann-Larkin-Vintage-Scroll-Christmas-Card-Flower1

Joann-Larkin-Vintage-Scroll-Christmas-Card-Flower2

Products Used:

HCPC 3415 – Petite Poinsettia PreCut Set
HCPC 3551 – Holly Berry PreCut Set
HCPC 3622 – O Little Town PreCut Set
HCPC 3625 – Festive Notes PreCut Set
HCD 738 – Ornamental Add On Die
HCDP1246 – Festive Christmas Collection
Layered Poinsettia Shapeabilities
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear
Spellbinders Tool N’ One
Bright Ideas Prills

Project Instructions:

Other products: 5 x 7 Mystical Embrace, Off-White Card Stock, Core Essentials Neutrals Paper, Distressed Inks, Shimmer Spray, VersaMark, Antique Gold Embossing powder, Sheer Shimmer Spritz Sparkle, pearls from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by taking a piece of Core Essentials Neutrals Paper 11″ x 7 1/2″ and score it in the middle so you have a card 5 1/2″ x 7 1/2″.  Next using a rasp of another tool, rough up the edges of the base and then add a layer of paper from the Festive Christmas Collection.  Using the 5 x 7 Mystical Embrace, die cut and sand the Core Essentials Neutrals Paper for that perfect Vintage look and attach it to your card with another piece of the same paper from the Festive Christmas Collection in the center.  To make the scroll, first stamp the Festive Notes PreCut Set 2 times on top of each other and then cut a strip of paper 10 1/2″ x 2 3/4″ for your scroll.  I slightly curved in the to center of each side to give that flared look at the top and bottom.  Once you have everything cutout for the scroll, take a skewer and roll both ends to the length that you want.  Finally decorate and add your favorite festive Poinsettia for the finishing touch!

 

Next I want to show you a fun 3D Tiki Torch that you can find information on here.

Joann-Larkin-Tiki-Tourch

To show you how marvelous these papers are for that worn, vintage look that I just love, here is a photo of the cardstock before I started

Before

and after a very light sand with the Core Essentials Sand it block.

After

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Dark Paper
Core Essentials Sand It
EB-WHT-BN1-2T

My fifth project is a 3D Pool Table Box I made using the The Green Room SVG Kit from SVGCuts.com.  You can find the detailed assembly tutorial there.  It is the perfect gift box for that hard to buy for man.

Joann-Larkin-Pool-Table

Joann-Larkin-Pool-Table-Open

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Dark Paper
Core Essentials Sand It
EB-WHT-BN1-2T

Next I would like to show you a 3D Deck Shoe made using the Summer Holiday SVG Kit from SVGCuts.com.  You can find the detailed assembly tutorial there.

Joann-Larkin---Deck-Shoe

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Sand It

EB-WHT-BN1-2T

For my final project I want to show you a 3D Cowgirl boot made using the Happy Trails SVG Kit from SVGCuts.com.  You can find the detailed assembly tutorial there.

Joann-Larkin-Cowgirl-Boot

I lightly sanded the Core Essentials cardstock to give it a slightly worn look.  It’s so easy to do this with the Core Essentials Sand it block.

Here is a closer look at the flower.

Joann-Larkin-Cowgirl-Boot-Flower

Here is a closer look at the products I used:

Core Essentials Neutrals Paper
Core Essentials Sand It
Spellbinders Create A Sunflower
EB-WHT-BN1-2T

I’m so hoping that I am lucky enough to earn a spot on this fabulous design team.  I’d love to hear all of your comments about my projects and also let me know what your favorite Core’dinations collection is.  Thank you looking in today.  I really appreciate it :)

A special thank you to Core’dinations ColorCore Cardstock for this wonderful opportunity.

 

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

12 responses »

  1. Awesome projects. I absolutely love the haunted house and pool table.

    Reply
  2. Awesome projects. Can’t tell you what my favorite Core’dinations collection is because I can’t find them in the stores I shop in either. My favorites of today’s projects are: The Haunted House, the Vintage gift box, the Pool Table box, and that gorgeous Christmas card. I especially like how you created the scrolls. Well done! I hope you make the team. You would be a great asset to them.

    Reply
    • Hi Jean, thanks so much for your lovely comment. I too wish we had more availability of the Core’dinations product here, hopefully we will soon. I really appreciate your lovely blog friendship and hope your day is going wonderful :) hugs xx

      Reply
  3. I don’t know how they could not pick you for their team.All of your projects are stunning! You are so talented. I love all of these projects, but since halloween is a favorite of mine, I would have to give the most love to the haunted house.

    Reply
    • Hi Viki, THANK YOU so much! Your lovely comment made my day :) The haunted house was so much fun to create but definitely not for the ‘faint at heart’ LOL! Mary (SVG Cuts) does such a fantastic job with her cut files and they allows us the ability to put our own unique spin on them. Its so much fun to see everyone’s take/vision. Thanks again for taking the time to comment today… I really appreciate your blog friendship. p.s. I just love Halloween too! Hugs xx

      Reply
  4. that haunted house is just too cool, the papers are terrific and you showed your wonderful talent so well, good luck!!

    Reply
    • Hi Connie, thanks so much for your lovely comment! You’ve been such a wonderful friend and I always look forward to your visits, thank you so much for always inspiring me. I love your work and really enjoy reading your blog posts! Big hugs and God Bless xx

      Reply
  5. All your projects are amazing! I especially Love the Haunted house with all your details.Congratulations on making the design team! You are so talented and inspiring.

    Reply
  6. Fabulous creations! Best of luck! Your projects are awesome!

    Reply
  7. Smashing creations Joann., Good luck. Judy x

    Reply
  8. Wow! These projects are just awesome! You are one talented designer. Good luck with the call!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 274 other followers

