Cheery Lynn Designs Challenge 45 – Borders and Edgers

Hi there blog ladies,

I am over the moon thrilled this week!  Sandy sent me an email asking if I would like to be a Guest Designer this week.  Well, let me say that it took me about 2 seconds to say YES.

So there I sat trying to come up with an idea when my Niece came over for a visit.  My Mother-In-Law made her a princess dress for one of her dolls and also made the same dress for her.  She was so thrilled to be all dressed up and wearing the same dress as her little doll.  There was a pattern for the doll dress so I decided to make my own based on it.

I used 6 layers of cones to create the dress and I scalloped the edges to give the layers a bit of dimension.  I then alternated between the 2 different borders to create the dress and finished it off with a bit on Tulle on the bottom.  Of course, I also had to add a flower!  I used Cuties 2 to make a lovely little flower to finish it off.  When I was done and looked at the dress I thought “What good is a princess dress without a Tiara?” so I made one as well.

Here is the finished project:

A closeup of the dress:

and a bow on the back to finish the dress

For this project I used the following dies:

DL129 – Border Carnivale

B132 – Flower Chain Border

B150 – Cuties 2

Don’t forget to visit the challenge this week and put in your entry.

The Theme this week is Borders and Edgers!

You have a chance to win a $20.00 shopping spree at Cheery Lynn Designs!

Also, if you would like more fantastic inspiration visit the talented ladies from the Cheery Lynn Design Team.

 
Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog.  I hope you enjoyed and visit again soon,
 
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

2 responses »

  1. Wow–this is over the top fabulous and creative! I bet your niece wanted to take it home.

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a fabulous 3-d dress. I love the pretty colors and dies you used. So creative!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

