The Graceful Gardenia

Hi Everyone and Happy Friday to you!

For today’s inspiration, I wanted to share with a you a Gardenia Flower I created using my Build a Flower #3 dies.

Single-Flower

There are so many flowers you can create using your Build a Flower dies, the possibilities are truly endless!   The Gardenia flower is one of my favorites, I think it might have something to do with it’s presence being so tranquil and elegant.   I decided that such a lovely flower deserved a home worthy of it’s beauty so thought I would use it to decorate this pretty bird-cage.

Bird-Cage

I wanted to include a bird in my birdcage so here he is protecting his beautiful Gardenias.  Just in case you are wondering, I picked up this cute little bird at my local Dollar Store.  As well, since the Gardenia has waxy type leaves so I used glossy accents to give them that wet/waxy look.  This was the first time I tried this technique and will use it again, the leaves look real.

Bird-Cage-Closeup

Here’s a list of the dies used for this project:

B178 – Flourish Leaf Strip
B264 – Build a Flower # 3
B268 – Koala Bear (just the tree)
B277 – Leaf Edger
B278 – Lady Kate Edger
C184 – Judy’s Blooms
DL161 – Small Lace Faerie Queen w/Angel Wing
DL181 – Large Sunflower Doily
DL221 – Spring Flower Burst Doily
XM-6 – Inverted Scalloped Circle

I hope you find some inspiration both here on the Challenge blog and on the Cheery Lynn Designs Inspiration blog.   You still have time to visit the challenge this week and put in your entry where the theme is Flowers (Must be made with a die)!  With your entry, you will have a chance to win a $20.00 shopping spree at Cheery Lynn Designs!  Remember, the challenge closes on Sunday night at 22:00 Eastern time.  I can’t wait to see what you create!

I am entering this in the following challenges:

Simon Says ……Anything Goes
Rhedd and Rosies – Anything Goes
MIM#130 with Saturated Canary

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog.  I hope you enjoyed and visit again soon.  I love to read your comments, they just make my day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

17 responses »

  1. This is just gorgeous, a beautiful creation.
    Thank you for joining Rhedd & Rosies Anything Goes Challenge. We look forward to seeing you again.

    Moira
    DT

    Like

    Reply
  2. Wow! What a truly fantastic project, those flowers are stunning, thank you for joining in our very first challenge and Rhedd and Rosie’s challenge blog, I do hope we will see more of your fabulous project in the future, good luck Hun, Zoe DT xxx

    Like

    Reply
  3. Wow this is absolutely stunning the flower looks so real . I love Gardenias it was the flower I chose for my graduation prom. I think I may need to get that build a flower die .Love the little bird on his perch .
    Marilyn

    Like

    Reply
  4. OMG thats an amzing project thank you for joining us at Rhedd & Rosies xxx

    Like

    Reply
  5. Another brilliant design, I love Gardenias and I love bird cages so perfect combo for me thanks so much for sharing..

    Like

    Reply
  6. Great project! We’d love for you to try out at our new design team: Sister Act Card Challenge

    Like

    Reply
  7. What a special treasure this is! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp challenge this week!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Another wonderful design, the flowers are just gorgeous and I have put some dies onto my wish list 🙂 Great find with the bird!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Wow Joann! This birdcage is simply gorgeous. Jaw-dropping. I have wondered what the build-a-flower dies would be like so, I’m really glad I stopped by.

    Like

    Reply
  10. WOW!!! This is amazing.. LOVE it..I saw this on MIM..Loz

    Like

    Reply
  11. love this so much. can I ask where the actually bird cage is from?? its simply stunning xx

    Like

    Reply
  12. This is stunning and the flowers are so delicate like porcelein-great! saw this on MIM

    Like

    Reply
  13. Hi Joann, popped in to comment on your beautiful flowers and stunning decorated bird cage, I see you haven’t added a link to Make It Monday, could you please do so to make your entry valid.
    Thanks,
    Sandy DT

    Like

    Reply
  14. Wow! Those flowers are fantastic and look so real. Just visiting from MIM

    Like

    Reply
  15. Wow! Amazing project and your flowers are fabulous. Just popped over from MIM. Pat K

    Like

    Reply
  16. I saw your beautiful creation on Make It Monday and had to visit and take a closer look. Gorgeous! TFS!
    My entries are: #211, #213, #229, and #235.
    I would love to have you visit my blogs: Paper and Scraps Creations by JuliaMe and Myself on the Dark… and My Art… Healing The Soul.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Like

    Reply
  17. Please contact Rhed & Rosies Challenge Blog as you are the winner of our first challenge.There is a contact email for you to claim your prize…Congratulations.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

