Pink Zinnias and a Fancy Fold

Hi there and Welcome Back!  I hope that everyone has enjoyed the Blog Blitz featuring Cheery Lynn Designs New Release : )

Today I want to show you a different twist on a card I did a while ago called a Pop-up Book Card.  I struggled with a name to call this but I am thinking I will call it a Multi-Framed Pop Out Fold and I think you will be surprised just how easy it is to create it.  I will provide some instructions at the bottom of this post but first, here’s a bit of eye candy!

MFPC

with a closer look at the detail:

MFPC-Closeup

and the best part, here is the inside : )  Included are a couple of tags so you have a place where you can write your own personalized message.  These are great to use as bookmarks as well.

MFPC-Inside

and once again, a closer look at some of the detail:

MFPC-Closeup-Inside

To create this card simply follow the steps below (I based this on a pop-out card so here are the dimensions I used):

1.  Cut a piece of DP 11.5 x 6 for the front.
2.  Cut another piece of DP 11.25 x 5.75 for the inside.
3.  For the Pink Frames on the inside I took the 2 smallest XL-10 – Coved Rectangle-Classic LG Stackers Nesting Dies and placed them inside one another to cut my frame.  (Tip – Use a tiny piece Blue Tack which is a pressure sensitive adhesive between the dies to keep the 2 dies positioned the way you want them).  I cut this 8 times.
4.  Next using the largest of the 2 dies you used in step 3, cut 4 pieces of White for the centers.
5.  Glue 1 frame to each of the White pieces for a total of 4.
6.  Now for the fun part, I cut small strips of paper and scored them so I could make the pop-out portion.  I took 2 of the White framed pieces and between them attached 2 empty frames.
7.  Behind the 2 White framed pieces I attached another frame but cut the top off first so that I could use them as pockets to hold the tag inserts.
8.  Center and attach the piece you created to the card and simply attach the other 2 White framed pieces to the pop-out piece in the center of the card.

Here’s a quick peek at the dies used to create the inside pieces before they were assembled.

die-cuts

Here’s a list of the dies used for this project:

B261 – Tags 2
B332 – Ankara Lace Border
B333 – Sophia’s Heart Border
D138 – Mini Dimensional Butterflies w Angel Wings
DL250 – Cape Cod w/Angel Wing
DL251 – Horizon Coved Rectangle Boutique Stacker Frames
XL-6 – Circle – Inverted Scallop LG Stackers Nesting Dies
XL-10 – Coved Rectangle-Classic LG Stackers Nesting Dies

Be sure to visit the challenge this week and put in your entry where the theme is Beautiful Borders.  With your entry you will have a chance to win a $20.00 shopping spree at Cheery Lynn Designs!

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog.  I hope you enjoyed and visit again soon.  I love to read your comments, they just make my day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, what a surprise whomever receives this will see when they open it up, such great details!

    Like

    Reply
  2. This is absolutely fabulous Joann. I love the multi-frame idea, and especially the pop out part. This makes for a lovely shape and thank you too for the Tutorial. Evferythihng about this card shines, especially the tags. And i love your colour choices. Keep em coming my friend, your creations are just great! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  3. This is such a cool fun card. Love it. Thanks for the tutorial

    Like

    Reply
  4. OMGOODNESS, wow I thought the front was gorgeous with the beautiful papers , gorgeous die cuts, the framing is fantastic,with the stunning flowers you colored, the sentiment I live by. Then it opens up in all it’s glory, the frames, STUNNING, looove how you double framed the middle pieces, that was brilliant. with 2 tags inside, holy moly woman you are the BOMB. I think it should be called the The 3D queens pop up card, its and outstanding card, thanks sooooo much for sharing your creativity and always inspiring us to no end. Have a fabulous weekend…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

