Vintage Sleigh

Hi everyone,

I needed to make a gift for an office party and they have a strict $10.00 limit since this is supposed to just be a fun time and not a huge expense.  To make things harder you never know if you need a present for a Male or Female so I decided to make a sleigh and fill it with some yummy cookies.

Joann-Larkin-Sleigh

Products Used:

HCPC 3473 – Tattered Background PreCut Set
HCPC 3551 – Holly Berry PreCut Set
HCD 722 – Tattered Blossoms Die
HCD 738 – Ornamental Add On Die
HCDP1 236 – Christmas Card Collection
HCDP1 230 – Sunny Day Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: Exquisite Circles, Stampendous Shaved Ice,  Brown card stock, Silver card stock, Distressed Ink, Sparkle Mod Podge, SVG Cut File, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions: I found a SVG sleigh that I liked in one of the many free SVG image sites on-line and cut it apart so you can have the runners separate.  Cut the sides many times for sturdiness.  I did 5 layers.  Cut the runners out of Silver 4 times so you can decorate both sides on the runners and cut a piece of DP for the outside and inside.  To make the sleigh 3D, simply measure how long you need a piece of paper to be and decide how wide you want to opening to be.  Add 1/2 per side for a fold to glue to the sides and cut relief cuts so the paper will bend to the shape that you want.

For the DP on the outside of the sleigh I took a piece from the Sunny Day Paper Collection and then stamped and embossed it using the Tattered Background PreCut Set to make it look more Vintage.  Of course nothing is complete without a flower or 2 so to make the flower, stamp, die cut and distress the flowers.  Once they are dry rub them with Mod Podge and let fully dry.  To make the flower bud use your stylist to curl the pedals toward the center and glue the edges of the petals together.  Once your flower is complete attach it to the sleigh and finish decorating your card as desired.

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

10 responses »

  1. Simply stunning. What a wonderful gift filled with yummyness. Love all the details you’ve added …
    Hugs, Janie

    Like

    Reply
  2. maricopastamper

    Joann, this is ‘right up my alley’, as a GORGEOUS holiday accent for the home, as well as the perfect inexpensive gift that packs a real “WOW” as you’ve shared here today. AWESOME job on your sleigh!!! Do you by any chance have a source for the free SVG that you used, Joann? I’d love to be able to recreate this for a couple welcome back gifts for our winter visitors returning to the desert from the frozen tundras up North!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh my this is just stunning, whomever gets it will be just thrilled, such great detail, love the script on the sentiment and your flowers are just beautiful, great idea filling it with cookies 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Fabulous! Someone will be so lucky to get this! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oh my. This is just beautiful. I love the color of your flowers.

    Like

    Reply
  6. You are amazing – I wish I worked in your office!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. BRILLIANT, Miss Joann, WOW really gorgeous, I love the flowers, the leaves, the berries, gorgeous paper, and a sleigh full of goodies, how could ask for more ooww you make the best gifts, thanks for sharing..

    Like

    Reply
  8. cute cute I really like the flowers, there so pretty.now can you send me the sleigh full of cookies lol. thanks for sharing

    Like

    Reply
  9. That is just amazing!!!! You do such gorgeous work!!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. What a gorgeous gift. I love everything about it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

