Peace on Earth

Hi everyone,

Welcome to another wonderful week of Heartfelt Creations inspiration.  Today I want to show you my twist on a traditional Gate-fold card with a pop of 3D added.

Joann-Larkin-Gatefold

closeup of the flower

Joann-Larkin-Gatefold-Closeup

and finally open

Joann-Larkin-Gatefold-Open

Products Used:

HCPC 3337 – Fancy Ornament Precut Set (Discontinued)
HCPC 3500 – Open Vintage Floret PreCut Set
HCPC 3502 – Mini Vintage Floret PreCut Set
HCPC 3559 – Delicate Holly Swirls PreCut Set
HCD 705 – Holly-Ornament Die
HCD 727 – Vintage Floret Die
HCD 740 – Sweet Juliet Die (for the leaves)
HCDP1 236 – Christmas Card Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: Grand Decorative Labels One, Grand Labels One, Copic Markers, off White Card stock, Distressed Ink, Clear Embossing Powder, Sheer Shimmer Spritz, Glossy Accents, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions: Take whatever size Grand Decorative Labels One that you would like to use for the size of your card and cut it twice.  I used the second largest one.  Score in the middle and cut a 6″ x 6″ piece of the same card stock and attach the scored die cuts to the back.  To finish the backside of card (and to make it look nicer), attach a second 6″ x 6″ piece of card stock on the back.  Using your Grand Labels One die, cut a piece of DP in the next smaller die and attach to the front.  To create the die cut opening, place the die, cut line up in the center of the card and close the flaps (in this case I used the Holly Ornament die.  Once you pass this through your machine, decorate the inside of the card with DP.  Hint: decorate the inside after you die cut the front of the card to avoid any marks from the die on the inside of your card.

To create the 3D ornament I actually used the 2 sizes of ornament stamps.  I was thinking of using the 2 – 3D ornaments on my card separately but I liked the way they looked together so I layered them on top of one another.  You will need to stamp, emboss and die cut the ornament out at least 7 times.  I prefer to use odd numbers since I think it looks more visually appealing.  Next, score and fold the ornaments in the center.  For more complex shapes I create a template that I can place the die cut in to ensure that you are scoring in the center.  Once you have scored all the die cuts, simply glue back to back until you have attached all the die cuts, holding firmly until the glue dries.

To make the dimensional flower, stamp, emboss,die cut and shape the petals of your flower.  Make the flower bud by using your stylist to curl the petals toward the center and glue the edges of the petals together and finish by attaching the remaining pedals.  To make the flower have the “wet look” effect I simply brushed on glossy accents.  This also gives your petals some added strength : )  

I really appreciate your stopping by for a visit.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

6 responses »

  1. Beautiful take on a Gatefold Card with a twist Joann. I love how you have made the Bauble 3D. Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  2. Gorgeous, I love the flower and ornament!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Another beautiful card. Great colors and the ornament and your flower are so beautiful. You do a fantastic job!

    Like

    Reply
  4. 2 post be still my heart, this is a GORGEOUS card, I love how you put your own twist on things to make them all yours, that flower is STUNNING, then the ornament lined with the blue, just gorgeous, it’s like mine, I love it thanks for sharing, now on to your next make..Thanks for sharing..

    Like

    Reply
  5. Gorgeous, I just love the shape you made with your gatefold card, put together so lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  6. BEAUTIFUL, Joann!!! I love how you’ve used the ornament dies on the inside of your card, but that it is also visible from the front–very inventive and oh so smart. Love it!!! Another GREAT card, what talent!!!

    Best wishes, Joanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

