Vintage Christmas Door

Hi everyone,

While driving around the other day in the older, Historic part of my city and I saw the most fantastic older house (we call them Victorian houses around here).  This house had an amazing front porch.  I really wanted to try to re-create the lovely front door.  The door had the most beautiful wreath with such lovely greenery.  Here is my attempt at recreating it using Heartfelt Creations stamps and the coordinating dies.

Joann-Larkin-Vintage-Door

A closer look at the Wreath:

Joann-Larkin-Wreath

and I had to finish the card with an additional coordinating flower:

Joann-Larkin-Flower

Products Used:

HCPC 3303 – Posy Patch Flowers PreCut Set
HCPC 3394 – Classic Bella Rose PreCut Set
HCPC 3440 – Vintage Doors PreCut Set
HCPC 3494 – Delicate Asters PreCut Set
HCPC 3551 – Holly Berry PreCut Set
HCD 701 – Posy Patch Die
HCD 712 – Bella Rose Die
HCD 717 – Layered Scalloped Posy Die
HCD 726 – Delicate Asters Die
HCD 729 – Decorative Blossom Corner Die
HCD 738 – Ornamental Add On Die
HCDP1 237 – Antiquity Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: Timeless Rectangles, Distressed Ink, Black Ink, Brown Ink, card stock, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:  Cut a piece of card stock 10″ x 7 1/2″ and score on the long side at the 2 1/2″ and 7 1/2″ marks.  Next using your Decorative Blossom Corner Die place it on the bottom right corner and tape it in place using removable tape.  Position the die and paper into your machine with the die in between the cutting plates up to the score line.  This will allow you to only cut the part of the die in between the plates.  Once you have the right side cut, repeat for the left side.  Finally using the large outline from the Layered Scalloped Posy Die, center it at the top to cut your arch.

The next step would be to stamp, emboss, distress and cut out 2 of the Vintage Doors PreCut Set and fasten them to your card topping it off with the Layered Scalloped Posy Die.

To make the wreath you will need to stamp, die cut and distress at least 6 of the Holly Berry PreCut Set.  Once you have them all die cut, use your scissors and cut off the leaves and layer them around a small ring to build your wreath.  Finish off your card with your favorite sentiment and a flower or two : )

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

12 responses »

  1. Oh WOW I just love everything about this one Joann. That wreath is amazing and really adds to the appeal of your design. Judyx

    Like

    Reply
  2. Over the top!!!! You never fail to WOW us!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Joann, this is gorgeous. Beautiful job on your wreath. I love the colors and everything abut it is fabulous.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I agree you NEVER fail to WOW US, I too love door, and take lots of photos of them, you have show cased all these products to perfection, the 2 gates with that fabulous arch on top brilliant, then the door okay looks like a real door, I adore wreaths, and have made one for just about everyone I know :O), your wreath is fabulous all frosty, then the beautiful flowers on the front. this is a SUPERB piece of art work you call a card, thanks for sharing and always putting so much beautify in this world, your the BEST Miss Joann, hope you have a wonderful week….

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oh wow that is just Beautiful, love the detail and way you did the corners!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. I just love this !!! Hugs xx

    Like

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous. I love it.
    Hugz Tonniece

    Like

    Reply
  8. What a gorgeous creation!! Very creative!!

    Like

    Reply
  9. What a gorgeous, gorgeous card! Love the colors…and love, love, love that wreath. You captured the vintage vibe of a Victorian home perfectly!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Another great card!!! I don’t have this die set but you are tempting me… Can’t now but it probably will go onto my list. I’ve already put one die set into my cart and a set of stamps tonight for my next order–at some point. LOVE how you use HC stamps and dies, Joann, you are one amazing enticement for me to buy more of their products. Well-done!!!

    Best wishes, Joanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

