Special Delivery Especially For You!

Hi everyone,

Welcome to Wednesday!  I hope you are getting lots of inspiration from the Heartfelt Creations Blog where all of the Design Team have been busy working/showcasing some fabulous projects for you!   To give you a bit of background on where I found my inspiration for today’s project, I started to pull out my Christmas decorations and I came across a mailbox on a stand that you can use to hold all your Christmas cards and I thought that I would use this idea (on a smaller scale of course LOL!)

Joann-Larkin-Mailbox1

Joann-Larkin-Mailbox

and a closer look at the flowers

Joann-Larkin-Mailbox-Flower1

Joann-Larkin-Mailbox-Flower2

and finally here is a look at the front.

Joann-Larkin-Mailbox-Front

Products Used:

HCPC 3468 – Tattered Blossoms PreCut Set
HCPC 3545 – Open Leaf PreCut Set
HCPC 3571 – Keys and Roses PreCut Set
HCPC 3573 – Burnished Key Hole PreCut Set
HCD 722 – Tattered Blossoms Die
HCD 736 – Classic Leaf Die
HCD 741 – Burnished Key Die Set
HCDP1 238 – Floral Key Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: Brown Card Stock, Distressed Ink, 3D Foam Dots, Embossing Powder, Glitter, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions: Cut a piece of card stock 4″ x 12″ and round the ends to your desired shape.  I used a circle and traced it out.  Once you have the ends rounded score to piece at the 3 1/4″ and 8 3/4″ marks.  Next cut another piece of card stock 6″ x 9″ and score on the long edge at the 1/2″ and 5 1/2″ marks.  Flip the paper to the short edge and score at the 1/2″ mark.  You will use this piece of card stock to form the body of the mailbox.  Make relief cuts on the long score so that the paper will wrap around the arch and fasten the short scores to each side of the base and the long score to one of the ends.  To finish the door, simply cut another piece of card stock 8″ x 1″, score at the 1/2″ mark, make your relief cuts and attach to the door.  Once you have built your mailbox, cover it with your favorite DP.

To build the base, I made it in two parts.  The part that sits on the floor is made by cutting a piece of DP 12″ x 5″ and score on the long edge at the 1/2″, 5 3/4″, 6 1/4″ and 6 3/4″ marks.  Flip to the short side and score again at the 1/2″, 1″, 4″ and 4 1/2″ marks.  Fold and glue.  For the stand portion, use a piece of DP 4″ x 7 1/2″ and score on the long edge at the 1 1/2″, 3 1/2″, 5″ and 7″ marks.  Flip to the short edge and score at the 1/2″ and 3 3/4″ marks.  Fold and glue.

Once you have assembled the mail box and stand add DP where ever you desire.  To create the flowers and leaves, stamp, die cut and distress.  Using your flower tool stylist shape and assemble your flowers and foliage and attach to your mailbox as desired.

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

9 responses »

  1. This is such a delightful project! I love those gorgeous pink flowers against the dark background. It’s whimsical and fun and beautifully done. You are one talented lady!

    Like

    Reply
  2. WOW!!!! You have blown my mind this morning with this beauty!!!! Gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Wow, gorgeous!! This would definitely be a fantastically mindblowing gift for someone.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Fun AND gorgeous! Love the little flower in the open mailbox – wonderful project! hugs, de

    Like

    Reply
  5. You come up with the most unusual but brilliant ideas Joann. This is fabulous and so creative. Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  6. Your creativity just amazes me, wonderful design and decorating, Gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  7. This is absolutely amazing….so stunning. Do you have a template for this gorgeous design?

    Like

    Reply
  8. This is sooo amazing! I love this 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. OH MY!!! You’ve blown me away with this one, Joann. Just stunning!!! I love the detail you’ve put on the inside when the “mailbox” is opened, lovely!!! I’m in awe of this project, GREAT idea and execution of it too. 🙂

    Best wishes, Joanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

