Victorian Chest

Hello there everyone,

This week Heartfelt Creations is doing a blog hop with The Robin’s Nest and I was inspired by their Regency Tag Kit.  It got me to thinking of an old trunk or chest that a lady would have when she traveled so I decided to make one myself.  The trunk is based on the BBQ that I made.  It’s kind of amazing how you can take a project you made and by simply adding or removing a few parts it becomes a totally different project!  Bonus, right?

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Chest

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Chest-Open

and here’s a closer peek at the vintage flowers

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Chest-Flowers

Products Used:

HCPC 3500 – Open Vintage Floret PreCut Set
HCPC 3502 – Mini Vintage Floret PreCut Set
HCPC 3545 – Open Leaf PreCut Set
HCPC 3569 – Burnished Key PreCut Set
HCD 725 – Decorative Metal Fixtures Die
HCD 727 – Vintage Floret Die
HCD 736 – Classic Leaf Die
HCD 741 – Burnished Key Die
HCDP1 238 – Floral Key Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: Off White Card Stock,  The Robin’s Nest Stickers Regency Tag Kit, The Robin’s Nest Tear Drops, Gold Rounds One, Standard Circles Small, Grand Decorative Ovals One, Gold Ovals One, Pearls, Twine and Burlap from my stash, Distressed Ink, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

The bottom of the chest is simply an open-topped box measuring 5 3/4″ wide x 3 1/2″ deep x 2″ tall and the top is made from a piece of card stock 5 3/4″ x 9 1/2″.  For the ends of the top, cut 2 pieces of card stock 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ rounded at the top.  After you round the top, cut a series of small relief cuts so you can fold over the edges and glue it to the top to make your rounded top.  The hardest part of this project is the top.  To form the top, start by fastening both the sides to the edges of the top piece only up to where the top starts to curve.  After the glue dries, apply glue to the remainder of the flaps and roll the card stock and hold until dry.  If you try to do it all at once you will probably make a mess.  I did twice!  The top will be longer than just the curved top, this extra portion is used to fasten the top to the back of the trunk.  No trunk is complete without a lock so I took the Burnished Key PreCut Set and die to add a lock and key and then I had to add flowers!  Stamp, emboss, die cut and distress the Vintage Floret Precut Set.  Shape your petals with your paper shaping tools and attach them to your trunk, then finish decorating as desired : )

I am entering this project in the following challenge:

Inspiration Board Challenge for Scrapbook Creations

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

15 responses »

  1. Wow, You are so talented. I just love Wednesday mornings looking at your Heartfelt creations, creations!Thank you so much for sharing how to create these gorgeous pieces!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Beautiful. Hugs xx oh and I love your BBQ! Awesome!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Absolutley eye popping jaw dropping gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Another beautiful project!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oh my giddy Aunt! What a splendid project. I love all the gorgeous details…especially the way you used that medallion on the lid. You captured the Victorian feel perfectly. What a treat to open the lid and find those shabby flowers nestled in the shreddy. You are such a huge talent! I’m honored to be on the team with you for another term. I just wish you lived closer by so we could “play” together!

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is amazing. I would love to see your creative process in person. You should make video tutorials.

    Like

    Reply
  7. This is fabulous Joann. You must enter some challenges with this! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  8. Oh Miss Joanne, your mind is so brilliantly creative, and no your AMAZING, and your so sweet to share the instructions and us mere mortals could attempt to make it, I know some can, my friend Tonniece for example:),Again you have show cased those products to the finest, those flowers are “THE BOMB “. Another spectacular creation, you did warn us, have a wonderful week sweety thanks you for sharing, ((( BIG HUGS))).

    Like

    Reply
  9. FABULOUS Joann!!! I absolutely love your project…so happy that you joined us at Fussy and Fancy “Vintage”!!! Hope you’ll share more WONDERFUL creations with us!!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. How cool!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Wow, Joann, your chest project is amazing! So creative and I love your flowers! Blessings! Kathy

    Like

    Reply
  12. The chest is wonderful…great idea

    Like

    Reply
  13. very cool, so regal looking, love how you did the corners and the flowers are just lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Stunning Joann!! I love how you decorated the chest.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Pingback: Inspiration Board Challenge: March 2013 | Scrapbook Creations

Leave a Reply

