Topsy Turvy Cake Anyone?

Hello blog friends I hope you are enjoying a great Sunday and enjoyed watching the 2014 Winter Olympics!

Over at the JustRite Inspiration blog, Sheri has given us a lovely challenge this time around for the JustRite Friday Challenge – Spring Cheer.  The theme for this challenge is to create a project using a cheerful Spring color palette.  I have a dear friend who will be celebrating a birthday very soon and while looking through my JustRite stamps I came across my Topsy Turvy Cakes stamp set and remembered seeing a Topsy Turvy cake cut file so I decided to do both! I hope she will like it!  This was a fun project to do especially since the stamp matched the cake so perfectly : )   This was the first time I have used the Jewel Flowers and Flourishes die and thought the flowers were fun to make and were a great addition to this project.

 Joann-Larkin-Topsy-Turvy-Cake-and-Card

and the cool part about the cake box is it opens up into 2 separate boxes so you can include a few goodies!  I had a few special goodies set aside for just a project like this but it appears someone in my household (not mentioning any names…) found them LOL!

Joann-Larkin-Topsy-Turvy-Cake-Open

and here is a closer look at the Interlocking card

Joann-Larkin-Topsy-Turvy-Card
Joann-Larkin-Topsy-Turvy-Card-Open

The other products I used were:

JustRite Topsy Turvy Cakes stamp set
JustRite Celebration Labels One & Bracket Borders One
Spellbinders A2 Bracket Borders One
Spellbinders Labels Ten
Spellbinders Jewel Flowers and Flourishes
Spellbinders Classic Ovals Small
Spellbinders Classic Ovals Large
Spellbinders Floral Ovals
Spellbinders Gold Ovals One
Spellbinders Grand Labels One

I am entering this project in the following challenges:

JustRite Friday Challenge #115 – Spring Cheer
“More Than One Score” Scor-Pal Challenge #1 – Flowers
Hexagons: Happy for Hexagons Challenge in the Moxie Fab World

Thank you so much for your visit today.  I love to read your comments, they make my day : )

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

14 responses »

  1. this is just plain gorgeous, love that cake- how creative and she will surely love it. No matter what you put inside. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Both are so pretty, love that cake and the papers you used to make it, the opening for the card is so neat, she will so LOVE this!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Just LOVE the 3-D topsy turvy cake ! ! ! Beautiful and what an inspiration.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Hello Miss Joann, what a kool funky cake and you gorgeous card matches perfectly, love how it locks, she will love it, who would love some you make with love, thanks for sharing, hope you have a wonderful week, stay warm and dry, our side walks are dry, still lots of snow on the grass, but at least I don’t have to do the old Lady shuffle LOL… ((( BIG HUGS)))…

    Like

    Reply
  5. This is quite amazing and simply stunning Joann. Your friend will love it! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  6. My dear, the thoughtful touches to this ensemble are just mind blowing! I love that opening on the card…so clever. The flowers are stunning…just absolutely stunning. And then your cleverly crafted cake???? Well, it takes the cake. Always a delight to visit here. You are one amazing gal!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Saw this on the challenge link for Just Rite, wow this is super. I love that cake and the card that goes with it. You are so blessed to have such a wonderful talent.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Another superb project, love all of it!
    Thanks for entering at our Flowers challenge at More Than One Score at Scor-Pal and be sure to drop back on Saturday for the start of the March challenge.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Wow, that is super cool, both the card & box!

    Like

    Reply
  10. This is beautiful work! Quite a showstopper!

    Like

    Reply
  11. This is one fabulous project! I love that topsy turvy cake box – BRAVO! Thanks for joining us at JustRite Inspiration 😉

    Like

    Reply
  12. This is an amazing set. I just love that cake.

    Like

    Reply
  13. Hi Joann!
    Your boxes are awesome! Such great detail!
    Thanks for linking them up to the MFW Happy for Hexagons challenge!

    Teri

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

