Mantle Clock

Hello there everyone,

I want to show you a fun project that I made today that is truly Out of The Box!  I made a 3D Mantle clock using the new Once Upon a Time Paper Collection!  I used the stamps from the collection but you could always use a real clock face instead.

Joann-Larkin-Mantle-Clock

Joann-Larkin-Mantle-Clock-Flowers

I took my inspiration from this clock and made a simple pattern for the front and back of the clock:

clock

Products Used:

HCPC 3303 – Posy Patch Flowers PreCut Set
HCPC 3468 – Tattered Blossoms PreCut Set
HCPC 3532 – Beautiful You PreCut Set
HCPC 3591 – Alarm and Watch PreCut Set
HCPC 3592 – Timeless Clock PreCut Set
HCD 701 – Posy Patch Die
HCD 722 – Tattered Blossoms Die
HCD 728 – Timeless Amour Die
HCD 732 – Decorative Flower Pot Die
HCD 740 – Sweet Juliet Die
HCD 744 – Once Upon a Time Die
HCDP1 241 – Once Upon a Time Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: White Card Stock, Green Card Stock,  Grand Decorative Circles One, Antique Frames & Accents, Gold Rounds One, Bling and accessories from my stash, Distressed Ink, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by cutting the front and back of the clock out of card stock and then cutting 3 strips of matching card stock 12″ x 4″.  Scor the strips of paper 1/2″ on each of the long sides and cut a series of relief cuts on both sides.  These strips will be used to attach the front and back of the clock together.  The relief cuts will allow the sides to match the profile of the front and back.  Start by attaching the sides first, finishing with the bottom since that is the easiest part.  Once you have the clock formed, I covered it again in DP allowing the top to be a little bit wider then the clock for a nice appearance.  I used the Antique Frames & Accents for the lace trim and cut the frame for the clock face using Grand Decorative Circles One and Gold Circles One.  Finally, add some flowers because we both know that everything is better with flowers! lol.  I stamped, die cut and distressed flowers using the both the Posy Patch and Tattered Blossoms stamps and dies.  Finish with some bling and enjoy!

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

8 responses »

  1. Well I have got to say this is just amazing. What a beautiful shape. You are so clever and creative Joann. Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  2. Joann, you are one of the most creative people I’ve ever met! I had assumed that you covered an old clock with paper…but no…you made your own pattern and built it from paper. What? Who in the world does that? YOU do! And I’m so glad you do because it is gorgeous! You never cease to amaze and inspire me. Awesome job!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous and clever work of art!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Marjorie from TX

    WOW!!! This is awesome! What a wonderful keepsake. Marjorie from TX

    Like

    Reply
  5. This is amazing. You are a crafting genius.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Amazing ! A labour of love but so worth it!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Hello Miss Joann, do you see them all agreeing you are a genius, it looks like a real clock, but the most beautiful one created, the die cuts look fantastic, your flowers are superb, you are DESIGNER EXTRAORDINAIRE, thanks for sharing your genius and how to make it, amazing, have a wonderful week, my dear Friend ((( BIG HUGS)))..

    Like

    Reply
  8. Absolutely amazing Joann!! This was a jaw dropping design!! You go girl!!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

