3D Shadow Box Collage

Hi everyone,

Have you ever seen one of this old picture frames that holds a bunch of different pictures as a collage?  Well, I was doing a bit of closet clean-out and found a picture frame like this that I put together way back when our son was very young and this got me to thinking…  Lately I have been fascinated with shadow boxes so I took the idea of the collage and combined that with shadow boxes and this is what I came up with.

I adore the gorgeous new Once Upon A Time Paper Collection from Heartfelt Creations and it provided the perfect canvas.    It’s difficult to see in the photo but a lot of the lovely images are popped out inside each of the shadow box frames.  I must admit though, this was one of the more labor intensive projects I’ve done in a while LOL! but well worth the time and effort!

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box-Closeup

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box-Closeup-1

and the best part, here are the flowers!

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box-Flower-3

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box-Flower-2

Joann-Larkin-3D-Shadow-Box-Flower-1

Products Used:

HCPC 3303 – Posy Patch Flowers PreCut Set
HCPC 3468 – Tattered Blossoms PreCut Set
HCPC 3545 – Open Leaf PreCut Set
HCD 701 – Posy Patch Die
HCD 722 – Tattered Blossoms Die
HCD 736 – Classic Leaf Die
HCD 743 – Raindrops on Roses Die
HCDP1 238 – Floral Key Paper Collection
HCDP1 241 – Once Upon a Time Paper Collection

Project Instructions:

Other products: White Card Stock,  Copper Embossing Powder, Lace, Ribbon and Bling from my stash, Distressed Ink, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

To make the shadow box collage start by choosing a design for your collage.  From the top Left to Right, the shadow boxes I made are 3 3/4″ x 3 3/4″, 3 3/4″ X 6″, 3 3/4″ x 5 1/2″, 2 – 2 1/2″ square and finally 3″ x 5 1/2″.  Now that you have the dimensions, start by building the individual shadow boxes and attach them all together to form your collage.  The final measurement is almost 12″ square.  To hold all the boxes together fasten a piece of card stock to the back and attach a piece of ribbon to hang the collage from.  I decided to use various pre-made images from the Once Upon a Time Paper Collection to show case in the boxes.  Finish be decorating with lots of flowers .  Stamp, emboss, die cut and distressed flowers from both the Posy Patch and Tattered Blossoms flower sets and finish with some ribbon and bling and enjoy!

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

8 responses »

  1. Well, this is nothing short of amazing and simply stunning Joann. Words fail me! And there’s a first for you! lol Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  2. You did it again…you made my jaw hit the floor! I love this…all the wonderful dimension, beautiful flowers, skillful layering….it’s gorgeous! Bet this one was hard to pack up and send in! xoxo

    Like

    Reply
  3. Hello Miss Joann, okay this is SPECTACULAR, I know it was a lot of work, I’ making one right now but it will be nothing like this , those papers are perfect for it, the lace it gorgeous, your right again the flowers are the icing on the cake or shadow box, your flowers are some of the most beautiful ones around blog land, it a TREASURE, I hope you hang it in a special place for all to see, thanks for sharing, please stay home, your weather is going to be brutal, stay warm and cozy and safe, I’ll be thinking of you, have a wonderful day, ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Like

    Reply
  4. Oh Wow, another absolutely stunning project, so much to feast your eyes on, Beautifully done!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Just stunning !

    Like

    Reply
  6. I would very strongly agree that it was worth the effort. It is beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Absolutely gorgeous!!! You out did your self this time………….

    Like

    Reply
  8. This is another stunning project. I’m always so amazed by your projects.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

