Up, Up and Away!

Hi everyone and welcome to some Wednesday inspiration for Heartfelt Creations!

Today I want to show you another fun creation I made using the new Celebrate the Journey Paper Collection.

To make the Hot Air Balloon I started by searching for a template for a hot air balloon  There were a bunch of free templates out there, mostly for fabric ones, so I took bits and pieces from a few of them and came up with my own shape.  In my searching around I also found a nice kit from SVGCUTS.COM called “High Skies SVG Kit” if you do not want to try to make a template yourself.

Joann-Larkin-Hot-Air-Balloon

Joann-Larkin-Hot-Air-Balloon-Basket

For the top of the balloon I wanted it to look like some sort of net holding up the basket so I used the Ornate Gateway die, cut 4 times and layered them on the top.

Joann-Larkin-Hot-Air-Balloon-Topper

No project is complete without showing you the flowers!

Joann-Larkin-Hot-Air-Balloon-Flower2

Joann-Larkin-Hot-Air-Balloon-Flower1

Products Used:

HCPC 3318 – Daisy Patch Flowers PreCut Set
HCPC 3545 – Open Leaf PreCut Set
HCD 703 – Daisy Patch Die
HCD 736 – Classic Leaf Die
HCD 737 – Ornate Gateway Die
HCD 745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCDP1 242 – Celebrate the Journey Paper Collection
Spring Bling Prills
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear
Project Instructions:

Other products: White Card Stock,  Embossing Powder, Lace, String and Bling from my stash, Distressed Inks , adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

To make the balloon take your desired template and cut it 8 times and fasten the pieces together allowing time for the glue to dry between the pieces.  I scored the pieces to give the balloon a different look.  Once your balloon is made I created a simple Octagon basket and then hung the basket using string.  Now comes the fun.  Time to decorate!.  I added a strip using one of the pre-made sentiments  and then my flowers.  The flowers were made by stamping, embossing and die cutting and distressing the Daisy Patch Flowers and finishing them off with some Spring Bling Prills in the center.

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

11 responses »

  1. Karen O'Reilly

    This is so beautiful! I’m thinking of making a smaller one and putting it in an exploding box.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Just AWESOME !!!!! Hugs xx

    Like

    Reply
  3. you just keep blowing my mind, this is amazing, I would have never thought of anything like this!!! Gorgeous

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is such an amazing project. Love it.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Oh, Goody! Did you hear me? LOL This is spectacular….absolutely spectacular. I love every gorgeous little detail. You are just so clever, so creative and your work is always finished so beautifully. I’m in awe…..

    Like

    Reply
  6. Awesome. Great detail and I also love SVG cuts..
    ~Dawn

    Like

    Reply
  7. Such an amazing piece of art Joann!!! Absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Brilliant! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  9. Wow! This is amazing!! Love it!! Hugs!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Oh my that is just too cool, I love your creative use of dies on this, flowers are gorgeous, love the lace around the basket part, like how you did the sentiment all around !

    Like

    Reply
  11. Hello Miss Joann, you are flying with creation :O).. It’s decorated to PERFECTION, everything is sooooo gorgeous, your flowers are spectacular, another superb creation , thanks for sharing all this inspiration…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

