Explosion Bird House

Hi everyone and Happy Wednesday!  I am so happy you could pop by for some Wednesday inspiration for Heartfelt Creations!

I should mention that I have been fascinated with Explosion Boxes for a while now and I wanted to give one a try, while at the same time doing something a little different.  For this explosion box, I decided to create a peaked roof and turn the box into a little bird house!

Joann-Larkin-Explosion-Birdhouse

Joann-Larkin-Explosion-Birdhouse-Open

Joann-Larkin-Explosion-Birdhouse-Inside-Flower

For the flowers,  I used Versamark and embossing powder on vellum instead of cardstock.

Joann-Larkin-Explosion-Birdhouse-Outside-Flower

Products Used:

HCPC 3608 – Arianna Blooms PreCut Set
HCD 745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCD 748 – Arianna Blooms Die
HCDP1 244 – Arianna Blooms Paper Collection
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear

Project Instructions:

Other products: White Card Stock, Vellum, Distressed Ink, Distressed Embossing Powder, Flower Soft, Bling from my Stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by making a explosion box.  There are a lot of free tutorials out there so feel free to pick which one you would like to use.  I made the top like a pitched roof instead of a flat box top and if you would like to top the same simple measure the width of your box on the outside and make 2 triangles slightly wider then the box with an additional lip that you can use to attach the roof.  For my box, the outside measurement was 4″ so I made the triangle 5 1/8″ at the bottom and scored 1/2″ flaps to attach the roof.  I decided to use one of the dies from the new  Arianna Blooms Die set to make the roof look like the old ceramic roof tops.  For the Yellow Flower on the front of the box, I stamped (with Versamark) and embossed and die cut Vellum and then added distress inks it to get the color I wanted.  It added a nice touch to the vellum that I will definitely be doing again.

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

11 responses »

  1. Karen O'Reilly

    This is beautiful! I saw it on create and craft and decided I have to have a go at making one!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Over the top, gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  3. You are just so talented, such a fantastic idea and wonderful embellishing!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. What a beautiful project!! Very creative!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Wow! This is amazing. You are one talented lady.

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a cool idea!! I love your exploding birdhouse filled with such beauty.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Wow, wow, wow! So many gorgeous layers and such a clever design. Your flowers are stunning! I have tried embossing flowers on vellum, but i have a hard time shaping them…they always tear. You’ll have to tell me your secret!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Love your use of vellum Joann! You are such a talented crafter. Gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Just LOVE this !! hugs xx

    Like

    Reply
  10. What a stunning piece! I would love to make one of these for my Mother-in-law!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Hello Miss Joann, what a BRILLIANT DESIGNER you are, I love exploding boxes, but a bird house, this is very special to this Magpie, the roof is FANTASTIC, your flowers always so gorgeous, every piece is beautiful, that BRILLIANT mind has done it again, thanks for sharing…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

