Old Fashioned Fall Harvest Crate

Hi everyone!  So happy you popped by 🙂    Welcome to some Wednesday inspiration for Heartfelt Creations!

Last weekend I was cleaning up down at our little cottage in the valley and I found some lovely old vintage crates that were used for Apples so I decided I would use this as inspiration for this week’s post.  The apple crates looked like these:

3_French_Wooden_Stamped_Apple__as284a738b

and here is what I came up with using the gorgeous Heartfelt Creations Classic Sunflower Paper Collection and coordinating stamps and dies:

Joann-Larkin-Old-Fashioned-Fall-Harvest-Crate

Joann-Larkin-Old-Fashioned-Fall-Harvest-Crate1

and here is a closer look at the beautiful classic sunflowers.

Joann-Larkin-Old-Fashioned-Fall-Harvest-Crate-Flowers1

Joann-Larkin-Old-Fashioned-Fall-Harvest-Crate-Flowers2

Products Used:

HCPC 3626 – Classic Sunflower PreCut Set
HCD 745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCD 751 – Cut Mat Create 2A Die
HCD 752 – Cut Mat Create 2B Die
HCD 753 – Classic Sunflower Die
HCDP1 247 – Classic Sunflower Collection
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Bright Ideas Prills

Project Instructions:

Other products:  Off-White Card Stock, Postage Stamps Die, Leafy Squares Die, Teresa Collins Woodgrain Cottage Embossing Folder, Distressed Inks, 3D pop dots, Bling from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

To make my crate I started by making 4 – 3D slats out of Off-White Card stock 10″ x 4 1/4″ and score on the long side at 1 1/4″, 2″, 3 1/4″ and the 4″ marks.  On the short sides score at 1/4″ mark from each end.  These will fold into small 3D slats.  For the sides I used the same principle but cut a piece of card stock 5 1/2″ x 10 1/2″ and scored on the short side at the 1/4″, 1/2″, 5″ and 5 1/4″ marks and also on the long side at the 1/4″ and 1/2″ marks from each side.  Finally the base is made the same way but this time cut a piece of card stock 9 1/2″ x 6 1/2″ and score at the 1/4″ and 1/2″ marks on all 4 sides and finish by attaching another 9″ x 6″ piece of card stock on the bottom. (Hint:  you can use this same method to make envelopes for cards that are to think to fit into a traditional flat envelope!)  After you assemble all the pieces you can decorate to box as desired.  I did not fill the box with anything but it could be easily used for dinner rolls at Thanksgiving!  Finally add some flowers.  Stamp, die cut and distress some of the amazing Classic Sunflower PreCut stamp set and finish the centers of the flowers with Bright Ideas Prills or some bling.

Have I mentioned lately how thankful I am to all of my lovely followers who support me each and every week?  I can’t tell you how much I truly appreciate your kindness and blog friendship.

Have a wonderful day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

4 responses »

  1. What a beautiful little crate Joann. I would love to have it in my craftroom!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Wow you really dressed those up that looks fantastic!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. That is a wonderful piece! I adore that rooster!

    Like

    Reply
  4. What a transformation! Beautiful job.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

