3D Pilgrim Hat Box

3D Pilgrim Hat Box

Hi there Core Fans!  It’s Joann and I am really excited to be here today to share a fun 3D table top decoration which I think is perfect for the upcoming Thanksgiving season!  I loved this design so much that all I wanted to do was emboss and lightly sand the fantastic Core Cardstock for a bit of a Vintage look and feel.  After you lightly sand your paper don’t forget to use your Dust Buddy to clean away the dust!

Joann-Larkin-Pilgrim-Hat-Box

and as a bonus this opens up so you can use it as a gift box for a little something sweet!

Joann-Larkin-Pilgrim-Hat-Box-Open

To make this hat follow these steps.  To make things clearer I am showing the steps before the embossing was done.  Please emboss and sand your paper first.

Step 1
Cut the lid, base and brim out of black cardstock. The belt around the lower part of the hat from gray cardstock and the buckle from yellow cardstock.

Step 1

Step 2
Scor all lines so they fold into the the back of the paper and fold the hat into position so you can see where to glue.

Step 2

Step 3
Apply a liquid adhesive to all the tabs.

Step 3

Step 4
Carefully worked your way around the hexagon attaching the sides of the lid

Step3a

Step 5
Build the inside piece of the box the same way and place the base inside the lid to help it keep it’s form.   Apply adhesive to the tabs and carefully center it on the brim

Step 4

3D Pilgrim Hat Box Supplies:

Thanks for stopping by for a peek… Have a great day my crafty friends!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

2 responses »

  1. Joann: thank you for sharing this wonderful tutorial. I would love to make this, but one piece for the hat top overlaps the onto the lid. Would you consider reposting or emailing me a different lay out for coping. This is absolutely daring and would love to brag at THNKSGIVING DINNER..
    Your work is always outstanding and will continue to follow for new ideas. Happy crafting.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Ms. Linda,
      This project was created from a cut file that I purchased so due to copy write restrictions I am unable to share. If you made your own template for the top of the hat there could be one of 2 things wrong. You either have 1 or more sides to long or when the top was assembled you did not have all the panels attached to the top of the hat at the same height. When you assemble the top of the hat try assembling it with the top of the hat flat on the table so that the sides all line up evenly with the top. Let me know if you have any other questions and I will try to help you out.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

