Sunflower Box

Sunflower Box

Hi there Core Fans!

It’s Joann and I am so excited to be here today to share a fun 3D table top decoration which I think is perfect for the upcoming Thanksgiving season for all of my American friends.  Being from Canada, we have already celebrated Thanksgiving but every year I remember something a friend on mine that lives in the United States told me…  “We let our Turkeys get a bit larger here”.  It makes me laugh every time.

As I was thinking about setting the table for Thanksgiving dinner it dawned on me that it would be nice to have some sort of treat at each table setting so the idea of a Fall themed gift box was perfect.   The sunflower box was made using the Tim Holtz Kraft Core Shattered Collection and I just love the look of this paper.  I decided not to emboss or sand this paper because I wanted a more elegant vintage feel to the box.  The top is covered with an embossed layer of Tim Holtz Kraft Core Nostalgic Collection and several more layers to make up the pretty sunflower, all of the layers were however lightly sanded.  The center was finished with a pretty vintage metal embellishment.

Joann-Larkin-Sunflower-Box

Here is a photo of the box open giving you a lovely place for a little something sweet!

Joann-Larkin-Sunflower-Box-Open

Sunflower Box Supplies:

To make this box follow these steps.

Step 1
Cut all of the pieces from the cardstock of our choice.

Sunflower-Box-Step-1

Step 2
Assemble the box, emboss the Green Star and using your flower tool gently shape the petals on the lightly sanded Orange and Yellow pieces.  Attach the layers for the sunflower and glue to the top of your star box.

Sunflower-Box-Step-2

Thanks for stopping by for a peek… Have a great day my crafty friends!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

2 responses »

  1. Brilliant! This idea would be great for Christmas Day too, done in Christmas colours and Christmassy embellishments. A poinsettia would be good maybe? Love it! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  2. very pretty, beautiful layering and love the center of the flower!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

