On Your Special Day

On Your Special Day

Hi everyone!  So happy you popped by 🙂    Welcome to Wednesday and as always I have some inspiration for Heartfelt Creations for you today!  Today I want to feature a 3D project created with the new Romantique Garden Paper Collection.

Love is in full bloom with the Romantique Garden collection from Heartfelt Creations.  A romantic symphony composed in subtle shades of pink, fuchsia, green, cream and charcoal harmonizes beautifully with picturesque images of dainty hummingbirds, devoted love birds, graceful swans and delicate bleeding heart bushes.  Ornate ironwork backgrounds are in perfect harmony with layered elements of vintage sheet music, lace, flowing handwriting, scrollwork, florals, stripes and flourishes.  Six hand drawn stamp sets capture the idyllic beauty of a peaceful garden where swans glide across the surface of a glassy lake, nesting lovebirds are wreathed in flowers, and hummingbirds sip nectar from blossom laden branches of exquisite beauty.  The coordinating die cuts feature elegant swirled stems, a graduated set of bleeding heart blossoms and a majestic pair of swimming swans.  Dreamy and idyllic, uplifting and inspiring, romantic and moving as a masterfully scored concerto, this enchanting collection is a celebration of love and life amidst the extraordinary beauty of nature.

When I looked at this collection the first thing I thought of was weddings so I decided my aim was to create a proper paper wedding cake! My thinking was that this would be great for a tabletop decoration for either a bridal shower or even a table at a wedding reception.

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake

and here is a closer look at the topper of the cake.

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Topper

Products Used:

HCPC 3640 – Home is Where the Heart is PreCut Set
HCPC 3641 – Heartthrob PreCut Set
HCD 750 – Cut Mat Create 1B Die
HCD 755 – Romantique Garden Die
HCDP1 249 – Romantique Garden Paper Collection
Paper Shaping Tools & Piercing Mat
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One

Project Instructions:

Other products:  White Card Stock, Green Card Stock, Glitter, Ruffled Lace, Ribbon and Bling from my Stash, Distressed Inks (Pickled Raspberry, Worn Lipstick and Brushed Corduroy), Memento Inks (Rosebud and Expresso Truffle) and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by creating 2 round boxes with lids.  The top box is 3 1/2″ in diameter and the bottom box is 5″ in diameter.  An easy tutorial for making round boxes can be found here.  Once the boxes are built cover them in the paper of your choice and finish with some ribbon and bling.  I glued the top box base to the bottom box lid but you can leave them separate if you wish.  For the topper I took the Romantique Garden Dies and cut them 4 times, gluing pairs together for a little extra strength.  Now for the fun part, those beautiful flowers.  Stamp, die cut and distress your flowers using a combination of Pickled Raspberry, Worn Lipstick and Rosebud inks.  Once you have your petals shaped, layer them onto your die cut for some added dimension!  Finish with a few leaves and a sentiment and place somewhere for everyone to enjoy.  The sentiment I used was actually the sentiment from the Home is Where the Heart is PreCut Set that I stamped with Memento Expresso Truffle and distressed the edges with Brushed Corduroy after I fussy cut it out.  It made the perfect addition to the topper!

Here are a few Step by step pics to help demonstrate the instructions:

After you create your boxes (see link to tutorial above) cover them with paper from the Romantique Garden Paper Collection:

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-1

Stamp, distress and die cut lots of the lovely bleeding heart flowers from the Heartthrob PreCut Set!

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-2

After my flowers are distressed or colored to your liking,

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-3

Shape your flowers using your flower shaping tools.  I double layered my flowers for this project by just applying glue to a smaller flower on top of the larger stamped die cut.   This will give your flowers even more added dimension.

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-4

and then attach them to the beautiful die cuts and adhere them so they resemble the shape of a heart.

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-5

To finish, stamp, distress and fussy cut the the sentiment banner from the Home is Where the Heart is PreCut Set and fasten this to the topper.

Joann-Larkin-2-Tier-Cake-Step-6

Have I mentioned lately how thankful I am to all of my lovely followers who support me each and every week?  I can’t tell you how much I truly appreciate your kindness and blog friendship.

Have a wonderful day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

8 responses »

  1. This is a work of art. Stunning indeed.
    Hugs,
    Archana

    Like

    Reply
  2. Oh my that is absolutely outstanding! Gorgeous coloring and details!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. So beautiful! You did a fantastic job on this centerpiece. It could not be any more perfect! Hugs, Maureen

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is amazing!! What a gorgeous project, I’m salivating over here!! Great job Joann!

    Like

    Reply
  5. So very pretty … Beautiful coloring… Love what you did with the flowers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Joann, as usual your project is astonishing!!! Absolutely love it!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Joann…this definitely has the “wow” factor! It’s gorgeous! Your 3D flowers are amazing!
    Hugs,
    Tracey

    Like

    Reply
  8. Well, my friend, you’ve done it again! Created a project that causes my eyes to pop and my jaw to hit the table. This is exquisite! The lace and papers are a match made in heaven. I am just blown away by your fabulous dimensional flowers and the topper on the cake is a paper engineering feat of epic proportions. Girl! You take the cake! Hugs!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

