Bird Watching Layout

Bird Watching Layout

Hi everyone!  It’s time for some Wednesday inspiration for Heartfelt Creations but today I have totally stepped outside of my comfort zone for sure… I fully admit, layouts are something that I have not had a lot of experience with but I had to give it go.  Heartfelt Creations make it so easy with the premade layout templates that come as part of every paper collection.  So for this layout I simply took one of the lovely templates included in the Birds and Blooms Paper collection and voila, it was just that easy!

Joann-Larkin-Bird-Watching-Layout

and here is a closer look and the flowers

Joann-Larkin-Bird-Watching-Layout-Flowers1

Joann-Larkin-Bird-Watching-Layout-Flowers2

Products Used:

HCPC 3578 – Majestic Morning Background PreCut Set
HCD 742 – Majestic Blooms Die
HCD 747 – Arianna Lace Die
HCD 749 – Cut Mat Create 1A Die
HCD 751 – Cut Mat Create 2A Die
HCDP1  250 – Birds and Blooms Paper Collection
Paper Shaping Tools & Piercing Mat
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One
Rock N’ Roll Prills
Memento Dye Ink Pad – Rose Bud

Project Instructions:

Other products:  White Card Stock, Ribbon and Bling from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by taking one of the pre-made layouts from the Birds and Blooms Paper Collection.  Next, cut out 4 of the flourishes from the Cut Mat Create 2A Die along with 2 lacy dies from the Arianna Lace Die out of White Card stock.  Cut your images out using the Cut Mat Create 1A Die and attach them to your templates followed by your white Arianna Lace die cut accents.  The Bird Watching sentiment is a piece of chipboard that I picked up some time ago and found in my stash.  I covered it in glossy accents and applied glitter to make it sparkle!  Finally, no project is complete without flowers and the lovely Majestic Blooms stamp and matching die worked perfectly with this project.  Stamp, die cut and distress as many flowers as you would like for your layout finishing the centers with Rock n’ Roll mini Prills.  The flowers were stamped with Memento Ink Rose Bud and distressed with Victorian Velvet and the leaves were distressed with Distressed Inks Peeled Paint.

Thanks so much for your visit today.  I really appreciate it 🙂

Have a wonderful crafty day.  See you next time!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

6 responses »

  1. Well done, you! Those flowers are stunning…and I love those chuffed up birdies! Now that you’ve broken the ice, you can become a layout queen! Hugs!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Your layout compliments your lovely photo’s perfectly, lovely work on the flowers!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Could not wait to come and see a close up of this on your blog! This is gorgeous!! I love the way you kept the focus on the photos and the over all color tone of the whole layout. Bravo Joann!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Joann, this is stunning! The pictures, the flowers…its all exquisite! I can totally relate to how you feel about lay outs…totally out of my comfort zone! LOL That being said, I have just started on one…gotta get outta that safe space, right?
    Hugs,
    Tracey

    Like

    Reply
  5. Joann, I love this layout. Those flowers are gorgeous. Love the rich color you used, and the bird photos you added.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Gorgeous layout Joann! Love the beautiful colors and flowers you used and those pictures are wonderful! Blessings! Kathy

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

