There’s Only One Like You

There’s Only One Like You

Hi everyone!  Thanks for visiting 🙂  Today I am using the Heartfelt Creations Everyday Hero Collection to show you a fun little toolbox that doubles as a treat box as well as a coordinating gift card holder for the special someone in your life.

Joann-Larkin-Toolbox-and-Gift-Card-Holder

and here is a closer look at the minature toolbox

Joann-Larkin-Toolbox

Joann-Larkin-Toolbox-Flower

and the inside of the gift card holder.  Since I live in Canada the gift card had to be from Tim Horton’s lol!

Joann-Larkin-Gift-Card-Holder-Inside

Products Used:

HCPC-3665 Everyday Hero Newsprint Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3666 Everyday Hero Cling Stamp Set
HCD 745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCD 754 – All Geared Up Die
HCD1-761 Everyday Hero Die
HCDP1  253 – Everyday Heroes Paper Collection
Deluxe Flower Shaping Kit
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One
Memento Dye Ink Pad – Tuxedo Black

Project Instructions:

Other products:  Off-White Card Stock, White Card Stock, Versamark Stamp Pad, Ebony Embossing Powder, Verdigris Embossing Powder, Derwet Watercolor Pencil #40 Turquoise Green, Ribbon, Brads and Bling from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

I made the toolbox a little by accident. I started making a 6″ wide box with a rounded top and after a few modifications I ended up with a box that looked like a toolbox. To make this box, start by taking a piece of cardstock 6″ x 10 1/2″ and scor on the long side at the 1″, 2″, 3″, 4″, 5″, 6 1/2″ and 9″ marks. This will form the body of the box. You will need to make 2 pieces 2 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ to close in the bottoms of the box and 2 more pieces 2 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ that you will use to close in the top of the box. I did not want a smooth, rounded top so I folded the large piece of cardstock to the desired shape and traced the shape onto a piece of cardstock to use as a template. If you are unsure of which end is for the top of the box it is the end with the scor marks at the 1″, 2″, 3″ and 4″ marks. Finally, close up the ends on your box and decorate as desired. After the basic box was made, I covered the box in paper from the Everyday Heroes Paper Collection, added a handle and a few small pieces to make the front look like it latches. Finish decorating with a few fussy cut images from the Everyday Heroes Paper Collection and flowers from the All Geared Up Die set. They go perfectly with this collection! Finally make a quick and simple gift card holder for that little extra gift. There are a ton of different tutorials out there if you would like instructions on how to make one. Mine was a simple gift card holder with a pocket to hold the gift card. Once everything is complete, fill your toolbox with some sweet treats and present this to the lucky recipient or everyday hero in your life!

Have I mentioned lately how thankful I am to all of my lovely followers who support me each and every week?  I truly appreciate your kindness and blog friendship.

Have a wonderful day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

13 responses »

  1. Love the tool box! Great for Father’s Day. Every one needs a Tim’s card.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Karen O'Reilly

    Fabulous idea! Great one for the boys in our lives!!!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Brilliant! Joann! Tim Hortons? I am off to Google that one! Judy x (Your UK friend who knows nothing! lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. When I first saw this paper collection I didn’t really like it but after you have shown what can be made with it .. I love it. Thank you Joann for another great creation[s]. yes, sipping on a Timmy’s now, actually. lol Thank you ….

    Like

    Reply
  5. You make the best 3D creations EVERY WEEK. How do think of them all??? This is so awesome!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Love the card and toolbox. Very cool!

    Like

    Reply
  7. You never disappoint when I drop by, I always se a gorgeous work of art……

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. This is so fun! I love the clever design and the pretty papers! There really is only one like you, my dear!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Wonderful gift for Father’s Day or masculine birthday! What a cute toolbox! Blessings! Kathy

    Like

    Reply
  10. Brilliant project Joann! I love how you paired All Geared Up with Everyday Heroes! Hugs, Anne

    Like

    Reply
  11. very cool design, love the embellishing!!

    Like

    Reply
  12. Brilliant !!! Love how you used the All Geared Up flowers on this. It look fab! Hugs xx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

