Victorian Hand Held Mirror

Victorian Hand Held Mirror

Hi everyone!  Welcome to Wednesday and New Release week at Heartfelt Creations!  This week we are delighted to provide projects with the gorgeous new Cascading Fuchsia Collection.  I have had a lot of fun creating with this new collection and am excited to show you some projects I have created both for today post and for the next few weeks.

Heartfelt Creations invites you to join us for a stroll through a quaint cottage garden where your cares will melt away and your creative energy will be refreshed and renewed. The Cascading Fuchsia Collection of stamps, dies and papers is bursting with lush greenery and exquisite beauty. Here, you’ll find pendant shaped clusters of show-stopping pink, purple and magenta blossoms that are also called “Angel’s Earrings.” Graceful vines, lacy patterns, flitting butterflies, shady bowers and delicate latticework come together and form this restful haven. It’s a celebration of the simple things that fill this moment in time with wonder and spontaneous joy. Cascading Fuchsia: It’s a flawless garden of peerless delight and a creative sanctuary for the artist in you.

I recently was in an local antique store and saw this lovely hand held mirror and that gave me the inspiration for today’s project.

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Hand-Mirror

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Hand-Mirror-Front

A closer look at the gorgeous cascading fuchsia flowers, they are so delicate and pretty.

Joann-Larkin-Victorian-Hand-Mirror-Flowers

Products Used:

HCPC-3668 Cascading Fuchsia Cling Stamp Set
HCD1-745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCD2-750 – Cut Mat Create 1B Die
HCD1-762 Decorative Oval Die
HCD1-763 Cascading Fuchsia Die
HCDP1-254 Cascading Fuchsia Paper Collection
Deluxe Flower Shaping Kit
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One
Scor-Pal Measuring & Scoring Board

Project Instructions:

Other products:  White Card Stock, Chipboard, Color Box Frost White, White Super Fine Embossing Powder, Grand Decorative Labels One, Grand Ovals, Bling, Ribbon and Lace from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

This project was started by searching for the desired shape on-line.  I could not find the shape I was looking for but I did find a handle that I liked and using my software created an oval for the mirror body.  The shape was out twice in white card stock, and twice in chipboard and another 2 times in paper from the lovely new Cascading Fuchsia Paper Collection.  This provided the mirror with some strength.  Next, I wanted to add some dimension to this project so I cut 2 strips of white cardstock 12″ x 2″ and scored 1/2″ in on the long sides.  After placing relief cuts along both sides fasten the 2 pieces together.  If you have not already done it, glue together the layers to form the mirror with the chipboard sandwiched between the white cardstock and designer papers.  Now attach the spacer strip to one side of the mirror pieces trying to keep the edge around the same distance from the edge of the mirror on both sides.  I did one side at a time holding the piece in place until the glue dried.  Once both sides are fastened down, attach the second side of the mirror.  Finally, decorate as desired.  I used some reflective cardstock for the mirror and if you wish to add some pretty lace to the edge like I did, before you attach the designer paper to the chipboard, fasten the lace to the chipboard and then attach your decorative paper.  This will give you a nice clean edge!  The fuchsia flowers were stamped with Versamark and heat embossed using super fine white embossing power and lightly distressed with Worn Lipstick distress ink.

I hope you like this project 🙂  I would love to hear your comments!

Have a wonderful day!

joann sig 2
About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

15 responses »

  1. Beautiful creation! Like the Victorian theme.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Joann, this is so beautiful and so creative.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh WOW Joann this is beautiful! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  4. I really did think you decorated a mirror, until I read your instructions Joann. This project is stunning, and truly inspirational. Hugs
    P.S. Loved your video on Splitcoast too, you did an amazing job!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. A real work of art, Joann. Those fuschias look so real. I love the detail, the shape, everything. Awesome creation.

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is gorgeous. What a great idea. I think I may make one each for my granddaughters. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Joann, what a great project! Just beautiful, lots of detail and I love your fuchsias!!!! Hugs

    Like

    Reply
  8. Love that you stamped with white ink and love the addition of the beads!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Love this, especially all the bling!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. What a gorgeous project! It really does look like it came from a Victorian lady’s dressing table. Such beautiful details!!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Joann, what a super cool altered art piece! It has such a wonderful old fashioned feel! Beautiful flowers as well!
    Hugs,
    Tracey

    Like

    Reply
  12. WOW beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  13. What a beautiful art piece Joann! Your flowers are gorgeous! Blessings! Kathy

    Like

    Reply
  14. Joann, both projects are beautiful, but second one is breathtakingly gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Beautiful, those flowers look terrific!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

