Baby Book Card

Hi everyone and welcome to some Wednesday inspiration for Heartfelt Creations!

I have a fun interactive card in the form of a little baby book that actually turned out nothing like what I had planned LOL!  I am fascinated by Shadow Boxes so I started out by making a Shadow Box that I planned to wrap in paper to make it look like a book.  Well, when I was looking for a die to use for cutting the opening of my shadow box the nesting of the dies caught my eye and I came up with the idea below.

Joann-Larkin-Baby-Book

and, of course, a closer look at the flowers

Joann-Larkin-Baby-Book-Flowers

and finally how it looks open, what do you think?

Joann-Larkin-Baby-Book-Open

Products Used:

HCPC 3545 – Open Leaf PreCut Set
HCPC 3605 – Sweet Lillaby Sentiments PreCut Set
HCPC 3606 – Sweet Lillaby Background PreCut Set
HCD 736 – Classic Leaf Die
HCD 744 – Once Upon a Time Die
HCD 746 – Sweet Lullaby Die
HCDP1 243 – Sweet Lullaby Paper Collection
Bright Ideas Prills
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear
Labels One

Project Instructions:

Other products: Blue Card Stock, Copic Markers, Stickles,Memento Ink, Embossing Powder, Distressed Ink, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by making a 4 1/4″ x 4 1/4″ shadow box frame out of Blue card stock cutting the opening with the largest Labels One die that fits.  Next cut at least 2 more 4 1/4 ” x 4 1/4″ panels cutting out the center using the next smaller Labels One.  I only did 2 additional layers but you can make as many as you want.  To keep the layers spaced evenly I simply cut 2 strips of paper 4 1/4″ x 1 1/2″ and scored them every 1/4″ on the long side and folded it like an accordion.  After you have the strips folded, place them on both sides of your shadow box and insert your panels before closing the shadow box up.  To make things look nicer, I wrapped the entire outside of the shadow box again in card stock to eliminate any unwanted edges.  For the cover, simply take a piece of card stock 10 1/2″ x 5″ and scor it on the long side at 4 3/4″ and 5 3/4″ and attach it to the bottom and left edge of the shadow box.  Finally decorate with your favorite accessories and some lovely flowers.  The flowers I used were from the Sweet Lullaby Die and I thought made the perfect addition to the card.

I hope to see  you again soon.  I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

8 responses »

  1. What do I think? Oh Joann you are so inspiring! I think I must try one of these. I just love it! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  2. Beautiful, love the flowers!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh my is that ever precious, it makes me think of a treasure you would find at an Estate sale, a vintage item passed down from generations 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love this baby book card.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Your Baby Book Card is lovely. I especially love the way you did the inside.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Love the bright colors and those stunning flowers Joann!!! Stunning!

    Like

    Reply
  7. What a gorgeous card!! Very creative!!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Hello Miss Joann, well I loooooove this and it turned out exactly like it was suppose to, the cover is absolutely gorgeous the flowers are superb, then when opened it’s brilliant, the paper are stunning love the both side, thanks for sharing your brilliance with us..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.