Happy Birthday Card with a gift

Happy Saturday Everyone,

I hope everyone is enjoying a wonderful weekend so far.

This is just a quick post today to enter my card into this week’s Mojo Monday.  My card is based on a great sketch by Carole Burrage.

Mojo283Sketch

I wanted to try a different spin on a birthday card.  As I was thinking of a few ideas, I decided to light a nice scented candle to enjoy.  It was actually the candle that gave me an idea, why don’t I make a birthday card and have a few tea lights included as a little gift.  I have seen similar cards done like this but I noticed that the tealights always appeared to be glued to the card so I thought why not make a drawer so the tea lights can be removed without damaging the card.

So with all of that in mind, here is what I came up with:

MJM238-Card

MJM238-Card-Inside

MJM238-Card-Inside1

I am entering this card in the following challenges:

Mojo Monday 283
ABC19 – Anything Goes
Simon Says – A Bit O’ Green

Thanks so much for visiting my blog and I hope you can come back and visit again soon!

joann sig

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

7 responses »

  1. Oh this is so pretty love how you have attached the tea lights to the inside of the card and the flowers made from pattern paper is adorable .

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hello Joanne this card is brilliant, fab idea to make a slide in pocket for the tea lights, you can build anything out of paper, I’ve seen you:):). Thanks so much for the visit I was honored since I’m in awe of your work, have a great weekend..Thank for sharing your creativity with us..

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh Joann this is fabulous. What a great take on the Sketch. This is so much better having a drawer of this nature too. I just love what you have created. Hope this finds you well and enjoying your weekend Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  4. what a fantastic card and gift combo idea, so very creative and Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Just beautiful! Love it! Thanks for playing along with us over at ABC Challenges! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a wonderful card and love that you get a gift too.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp challenge.
    luv
    Debby

    Like

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Birthday Card with Hidden Surprise | ScrapbookingStore.com

Leave a Reply

