JustRite Friday Challenge #079 – “Opposites Attract”

Hi everyone and Happy Friday!

Today I have a project to share, this one comes with a bit of a story…  I have been wanting to make a shadow box card for some time (I had never tried one of these before) so I thought I might make one to enter in one of my favorite challenges  JustRite Friday Challenge #079 – “Opposites Attract”.

The challenge this week is to make a card with “complimentary” colors (colors opposite each other on the color wheel).  The wheel is simply for reference only but you can use any color range – light to dark – to create your card.  I decided to go with Purple and Yellow.  I just love the sharp contrast of these two colors together.

I started out with creating my shadow box card which was a lot of fun and I thought it really added a different look to a traditional card but when I finished it I just felt it was missing something so this is where the story comes in… to make a long story short, one of my friend’s has a loved one in the hospital awaiting some major surgery.  She has been trying to divide her time between being at work and being at the hospital with her loved one every day for the past several weeks.  I thought I would try to make her  a little something that she could bring to the hospital with her and would hopefully cheer her up.  So, my shadow box card turned into a “Thinking of You – Get Well Soon” shadow box/picture frame.  I hope it will bring a smile to her lovely face when I give it to her.

Here is a photo of the shadow box before I framed it.

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog.  I hope you come back again soon.

Have a wonderful weekend!

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

6 responses »

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!! For the first try, this one is EXQUISTE!!! Love the colors and it is put together perfectly!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Beautiful creation, I love these two colors together too! Such a great uplifting card to someone not feeling well!

    Like

    Reply
  3. What a great technique! I am gonna have to try this!! Beautiful colors and coloring! Thanks for sharing with us at JustRite Inspiration 😉

    Like

    Reply
  4. So creative! Beautiful coloring!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Joann, this is AMAZING!!! I love purple/yellow together & you carried it off perfectly here with so many gorgeous, sweet details!!! I know the lady who receives this is going to be sooo thrilled and will enjoy having it to look at while she heals!!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. What a stuning project. I wanted to use the same stamp but then decided rather on Shabby Chic Labels Four. Love it! 🙂 Love your coloring and how much effort you put in it!

    Have a nice day!
    Aleksandra

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.