A Special Card for a Special Friend

Happy Sunday Everyone,

Today I want to share with you a Birthday Card I made for a Very Special Friend who is always there for me.  I wanted this to be a special card so I took a few of the ideas I had in my mind and brought them together to come up with this design.

I made the front and back of the card a standard A6 size and for the middle accordion fold I cut a piece of card stock 4 inches high by 12 inches long and then scored it at 3″, 6″ and 9″.  To get the design on the edges I took the French Flair die and only used the edge to give me the shape I wanted.

Here is my card:

Happy-Birthday-Front

Happy-Birthday-Inside

In addition, because this card has so many layers, I have to make a box for it to fit in.  I used the Card Satchel tutorial from Scor-Pal for the box.

Envelope-Box

The dies and other supplies I used for this project can be purchased at The Stamping Room for those of you that are in this part of the world.  Donna is a good friend and has a fantastic line of dies, paper and other products for all of your scrapbooking and cardmaking needs.  She also carries really good glue at a great price.  As a matter of fact, I buy all my glue from Donna and trust me, I use a lot of glue…LOL!
For this project I used the following dies:

A196 – Darling Daisies
B117S – Mini Fanciful Flourish
B162 – Lace Corner Deco B
B211 – Happy Birthday
B242 – Special Occasions
C184 – Judy’s Blooms
CM-3 – A6 Metric Card Stackers Rectangle-Classic
D138 – Mini Dimensional Butterflies w Angel Wings
DL153 – Polynesian Sails Oval
XL-13 – French Flair – Scalloped LG Stackers Nesting Dies
XM-7 – Oval
XM-8 – XM Scalloped Oval

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog.  I hope you enjoyed and visit again soon.  I love to read your comments, they just make my day!!

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

One response »

  1. Oh I bet your friend just loved this, such pretty design and lovely flowers, thanks for sharing the tutorial link for the box also!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.