Geared Up For Your Birthday

Geared Up For Your Birthday

Hi everyone!  Happy Wednesday 🙂

I have a quick and easy Fancy Fold for you today.  Most people call this type of Fancy Fold a Pop Out Book Card and there is a ton of tutorials out there.  I took the basic idea and put my own twist on it, I hope you like it!  The All Geared Up Collection from Heartfelt Creations has really helped me to put my thinking cap on for all of masculine cards that we need to have in our stash.

Joann-Larkin-Geared-Up-For-Your-Birthday

and here is a closer look at the flowers,

Joann-Larkin-Geared-Up-For-Your-Birthday-Closeup1

Joann-Larkin-Geared-Up-For-Your-Birthday-Closeup2

also the real star of the show, the inside of the card

Joann-Larkin-Geared-Up-For-Your-Birthday-Inside

Products Used:

HCPC 3534 – Striped Sun Kissed Fleur PreCut Set
HCPC 3634 – Tarnished Gears PreCut Set
HCD 734 – Sun Kissed Fleur Die
HCD 754 – All Geared Up Die
HCDP1 248 – All Geared Up Paper Collection
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One

Project Instructions:

Other products:  Off-White Card Stock, Large Deckled Rectangles, Tim Holtz Layering Stencil Bubble, Adirondack Inks Caramel, Rust and Alcohol Blending Solution, Aluminum Foil Duct Tape, Distressed Inks, Distressed Ink Markers, Pearl and Trim from my Stash, Encore Metallic Pigment Ink Blue, Aged Silver Embossing Powder, 3D Foam Dots and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

Start by creating the inside of the card out of Off-White card stock and covering the outside with a piece of paper from the All Geared Up Paper Collection.  Finish the inside off with panels of coordinating paper from the same connection.  For the gears on the front of the card start by getting some Aluminum Foil Duct Tape and adhering it to a piece of heave weight card stock.  Do not worry if you have any wrinkles in the tape, this will only add to the look of the finished product.  Once the tape is fastened, start by sponging on some Adirondack Ink, I used both Caramel and Rust, overlap the colors until you get your desired affect.  Once you are finished with the inks you can use the Alcohol Blending Solution to make the mixing of the 2 colors more uniform.  While the ink is drying, stamp, cut out your favorite sentiment and decorate the card as desired.  Once the ink is dry you can die cut the tape as you would with any card stock, shape the die cuts and place of the card where you would like them to be.

Thanks for your lovely visit.  Have a wonderful day my crafty friends!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

5 responses »

  1. Gorgeous, love the colors!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Your fancy fold cards are always a delight. You have the mind of an engineer…and I am in awe of this gorgeous card! So excited to be on the team with you for another term! xo

    Like

    Reply
  3. Wow! Another stunning creation.

    Like

    Reply
  4. This card is amazing. I really love the colors and of course, the folding.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Stunning card Joann!! Love those flowers and your color choices. Congratulations on another year with Heartfelt Creations. I am so looking forward to working with you for another year.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.