Daily Archives: June 8, 2012

JustRite Friday Challenge #074 – “Vintage Masculine”

Happy Friday to all my blogging friends!  Hope everyone had a great week and you are as happy as I am that the weekend is here.  It has been quite a busy week and not much time to play in my craft room so I decided today that I wanted to enter a project in the JustRite Friday Challenge #074 – “Vintage Masculine” Challenge.  It is perfect timing since I received my new stamps from JustRite in the post today.  I just loved the projects that were posted on the inspiration blog by the Design Team.  They really do such fantastic work every week.

This one has been a real struggle for me.  Vintage is not something that I do well and when you add Masculine into the mix ….. wow!

My usual project has lots of ribbon, bows and flowers.  Well I don’t think they work for so well for a Masculine card.

When I got thinking about masculine, I thought of what I would like to make for my husband for Father’s Day…one of the first things that came to mind was how he loves to cook on the BBQ in the summer at our cottage.  In particular, he loves BBQ hamburgers.  I think he could live on them (not me, I need my veggies!)  Another vice for my husband is coffee so I thought I would include a gift card from Starbucks to finish it off.

I have seen a few different BBQ projects on the Internet so I decided to try one myself.    I used inspiration from what I have seen combined with my own BBQ to come up with the design myself.  It was actually quite simple.  A box with no top for the base of the BBQ, the same for the stand and a strip of paper wrapped around an arch for the top.

Here is my project:

Thank you so much for stopping by.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!