Christmas Bauble

Christmas Bauble

Hi friends 🙂   Today I want to share with you my take on an old style Christmas ornament.  I have a friend that gave me one a long time ago.  I believe it is called a Christmas Bauble.

Joann-Larkin-Christmas-Bauble

Products Used:

HCPC 3415 – Petite Poinsettia PreCut Set
HCPC 3551 – Holly Berry PreCut Set
HCD 738 – Ornamental Add On Die
HCD 745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCDP1 246 – Festive Christmas Paper Collection
Layered Poinsettia Shapeabilities
Paper Shaping Tools & Piercing Mat
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One

Project Instructions:

Other products:  White Card Stock, Distressed Inks, Ribbon from my stash and die cutting machine.

Instructions:

To Start with, you first need to make your basic shape for your Baubles.  You could easily use a circle die but I made my own SVG cut file for these and if you would like it follow the ling at the bottom of this post and you can download the svg file.  Your Bauble should look like this:

Bauble

I made mine 2″ in diameter but of course you can to size them to whatever size you wish.  After all 20 of your Baubles are cut out, scor them on all 3 scor lines.  Note, I have little notches to allow them to all fit nicely together.  Take 5 of the pieces and attach them to form the top.  Make sure to get glue right to the edges or they may not look as nice once you are finished.  Take another 5 pieces and repeat for the bottom.  Now take 1 piece and glue to the flap of either the top or bottom, it does not matter which one.  Your next piece will attach to the left side of the piece you just attached previously.  Now attach a piece to the left flap of the piece you just attached and then also glue the next flap to the top piece.  Repeat until you are all the way around the Bauble.  Glue the bottom onto the remaining flaps.  Cut 20 pieces of decorative paper(s) to fill the centers.  I did 5 different papers and cut 4 centers out of each color.  You can do as many or as little as you want.  Another option is to cut your pieces for your Bauble out of designer paper and either fill them with another piece of designer paper of leave them as is.  To make them hang, using your Crop-A-Dial or any other type of hole punch, put a hole in the center of 1 of the flaps to thread your string through.  Finally, stamp, distress and die cut out some tags and accessories for the baubles and decorate as desired.

Click here for a tutorial of this project!

Thanks you so much for your visit today.  I would love to know if you will make some of these this holiday season.

Have a wonderful crafty day!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

13 responses »

  1. Hi.

    Loved your Christmas Bubble. I would love to have the svg file. My email is kissat@hukassa.com

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a great project, Joann! I remember making these with my girlfriend when I was in junior high. We used old Christmas cards for the paper base, but this is much prettier! WEll done, you!

    Like

    Reply
  3. These are smashing Joann. What a brilliant project, and thanks for the Tutorial link. Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  4. I made some of these a couple of years ago, but I love your tag idea with them, they are lovely!

    Like

    Reply
  5. LOVE THESE! How do you make the triangle score lines perfect by hand without using an SVG file?

    Like

    Reply
  6. I would love to have the SVG cutting file and cannot find the link on the page. My email is jjjbbcw@msn.com. Thanks for sharing this beautiful project.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Judith Strausbaugh

    Love the Christmas baubles. They are really beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Judith Strausbaugh

    I forgot to ask you for the SVG cutting file for these. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Judith Strausbaugh

    My email is jaspeppers@yahoo.com for the SVG file.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Dear Joann,
    I would like to receive the svg file for the Christmas bauble. I tried to make my own but had some issues. I would really appreciate your help. Your projects are so amazing and I really admire your creativity. My email is kginther@verizon.net.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Hi Joann, hello from Newfoundland, nice to see you are from the east coast, I love NS, often visit there. I love your christmas bauble, I am gonna give this a try, I was trying to figure how you scored your circles, did you score them on your score board, I tried to just fold them by hand but would rather score

    Like

    Reply
  12. Thank You for this pattern, I am enjoying making these Baubles in different sizes.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.