Christmas Snow Globe

Hi there Core Fans!  It’s Joann with you today to share a fun little twist on a Christmas card.  Here is my version of a 3D snow globe and as a bonus this fun card even folds flat for mailing!

Joann-Larkin-Snow-Globe

here is a closer look at the detail of this snow globe

Joann-Larkin-Snow-Globe-Closeup1

Joann-Larkin-Snow-Globe-Closeup2

and best of all it folds flat for mailing!

Joann-Larkin-Snow-Globe-Folded

Christmas Snow Globe Supplies:

Snow-Globe-Supplies

To make this project follow these steps.

Step 1
Cut out all your pieces in the cut file in the colors you desire.  For the base, I cut the pieces twice so I could place them back to back and have the color on both sides.  For the Acetate, use the heaviest weight you can find.  I used Acetate meant for report covers.

Snow-Globe-Step-1

Step 2
Sand the pieces for the base on both sides using your Sand It Gadget and don’t forget to clean up with your dust buddy!  An easier way to keep your work area a little cleaner is to sand the pieces on a piece of printer paper!

Snow-Globe-Step-2

Step 3
For detailed assembly of the snow globe, the creator of the cut file has a good tutorial here so be sure to check it out.

Thanks for stopping by for a peek… Have a wonderful day my crafty friends!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

4 responses »

  1. I you don’t have a cutter that uses digital files you can get the same design from SAR. I have had this as a stamp set for years. It does take more time to hand cut it but it is doable. Plus, an added bonus with the stamp set is you can make an ornament instead of the snow globe and there are a variety of items to go in the middle, like a Christmas tree, snow flake ect. She also has this available as a die set which would make it go a lot faster for those who have a hand crank die cutter. She also has a nice video on how to assemble the ornament.
    I got interested in slice forms before there were home cutting machines available and my first ones were made by reading a book by Masahiro Chatani and Keiko Nakazawa called Pop-Up Geometric Origami. This book is wonderful and has a ton of designs for you to copy and make. You can make a globe and stand from this book and it is right on the cover. As per usual for me, I looked through the book and picked out the more advanced ones to start with. That is the way I roll. LOL
    Anyway, I thought it might be nice for people who don’t have a magical electronic cutter that takes files from online, that it is still possible to make these awesome paper wonders in other ways and give them the chance to try this incredible art form for themselves.

    Like

    Reply
  2. these are just beautiful, I saw ones like it at Barnes and Nobles for the first time!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Hi where can I purchase the cutting files so in order to makes this

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.