Flip Fold Mini Album

Flip Fold Mini Album

Hi everyone!  Thanks so much for popping by today and Happy Black Friday!

Each Black Friday, Heartfelt Creations plans a special blog post.  This year is extra special as they are announcing a brand new product they are releasing!

I’m sure many of you have either done or have maybe seen the amazing mini albums that are being created with all the flip folds and interactive pieces.  They are absolutely stunning but so much work to create them from scratch when creating the album base along with the inserts.  Well, Heartfelt Creations has taken the work out of making the base and insert pages for your album so you can get right to the fun part, decorating!

This new mini album will be available in White, Black, and Craft.  Along with each of those album colors, they will have 4 different packs with various designs of flipfold inserts in all 3 colors.

Ok, now that I’ve spilled the beans LOL! I should tell you that I haven’t had very much experience creating mini albums but with the premade base and inserts Heartfelt have designed I knew wanted to have a go at one.  I should also warn you this post is pretty ‘photo heavy’ so grab yourself a cuppa, sit back, relax and take a peek.

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album

I wanted a bit of a different look on the cover so I added a shadow box

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Cover

I also added a fancy flap to hold things closed

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Opening

and even decorated the back!

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Back

Now for the fun stuff, here are the pages!

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo1

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo2

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo3

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo4

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo5

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo6

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo7

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo8

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo9

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo10

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo11

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo12

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo13

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo14

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo15

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo16

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo17

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo18

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo19

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo20

For a nice surprise, I added some drawers to store some extra decorating supplies

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo21

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo22

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo23

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Photo24

Joann-Larkin-Mini-Album-Spine

Products Used:

HCPC-3500 – Open Vintage Floret Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3644 – Birds and Blooms Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3645 – Leafy Branch Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3650 – Butterfly Medley Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3651 – Botanical Rose Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3652 – Botanical Wings Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3655 – Dream in Beauty Cling Stamp Set
HCPC-3656 – Delightful Daisies Cling Stamp Set
HCD1-727 – Vintage Floret Die
HCD1-745 – Luggage and Tags Die
HCD1-747 – Arianna Lace Die
HCD2-749 – Cut Mat Create 1A Die
HCD2-750 – Cut Mat Create 1B Die
HCD1-756 – Birds and Blooms Die
HCD1-757 – Leafy Branch Die
HCD1-758 – Botanical Wings Die
HCD1-759 – Butterfly Medley Die
HCD1-760 – Delightful Daisy Die
HCD1-776 – Eyelet Oval Die
HCD1-778 – Fleur Boarders and Pocket die set
HCD1-779 – Regal Boarders and Pocket die set
HCD1-780 – Ornate Boarders and Pockets die set
HCD1-783 – Border Essentials Die
HCFA1-431 – Flip Fold Album
HCFP1-433-2 – Pocket and Flipfold Inserts A-White
HCFP1-434-2 – Pocket and Flipfold Inserts B-White
HCFP1-435-2 – Pocket and Flipfold Inserts C-White
HCFP1-436-2 – Pocket and Flipfold Inserts D-White
HCDP1-250 – Birds and Blooms Paper Collection
HCDP1-251 – Butterfly Medley Paper Collection
Black Gala Glitz
Memento Dye Ink Pad – Espresso Truffle
Deluxe Flower Shaping Kit
Art Institute Glue – Dries Clear Glue
Spellbinders Tool N’ One
Scor-Pal Measuring & Scoring Board

Project Instructions:

Other products: White Cardstock, Baby Blue Vellum, Tim Holtz Hitch Fasteners, Tim Holtz Ornate Plates, Archival Fern Green Ink, Distressed Inks (Abandoned Coral, Wilted Violet, Brushed Corduroy, Gathered Twigs, Worn Lipstick, Broken China), Versamark, Shabby Blue Embossing Enamel, Pink Peony and Antique Gold Embossing Powders, Crystal Gold and Lavender Micro Glitter, Copper Micro Beads, Spun Sugar Distressed Glitter, Lace, Ribbon, Pearls and Bling from my stash and die cutting machine.

CLICK HERE to watch a video featuring the Vintage Floret Collection.

Instructions:

Before I start on the instructions for my album I first want to state that there is no wrong way to build these.  You will see design team members that all have different inserts in different places.  This is part of making this type of product unique to yourself so simply use what looks good to you!  The way I approached this album was to simply open up and look at all the amazing options that are provided in the inserts and using removable tape I attached them to the pages where I wanted to place them.  This gives you the flexibility to change things around before you start to glue.  After you finalize the overall layout of your album I manually re-scored and used my bone folder on all of the scor lines on the inserts to ensure that they were nice and sharp.  I also added a shadow box on the front cover and finally, I wanted a place to store a pen for journaling as well as some small tags and embellishments so instead of the last page containing inserts I removed the page and added a set of drawers based on match book drawers.  I decided to decorate my album using a combination of pulls and pockets.  If you have them also add magnets between the layers of your pages to help keep things closed!

Thanks so much for visiting.  Have a wonderful day!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

16 responses »

  1. This is absolutely amazing! The way you incorporated the dies and pockets is fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
  2. I love mini albums and this one is gorgeous. Thank you Joann. So much work but huge rewards.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Both your cover and the drawers make this album quite unique. Beautiful pages. Love that you used ribbon to embellish some of your pages…gives a nice look to the pages. Well done!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Over the top!!!! Another beautiful creation!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love your shadow box on the cover! Great idea Joann and the rest of your album is beautiful, so much detail.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Your album is gorgeous and amazing. Looks like fun work.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Joann, so many beautiful details for one to take in! I love the little boxes you’ve added…what a fabulous idea to hold keepsakes, etc.
    Hugs,
    Tracey

    Like

    Reply
  8. Hi Joann, Love your album I order mine. I was wondering how did you make the shadow box on the front. I would love to do this but am new to all this scrap booking. thanks in advance

    Like

    Reply
  9. Toni Bettencourt

    This is an absolutely beautiful album. I would like to know how you put in the drawers, how you made them and what they are made of.

    Also, I would like to know how you constructed the outer box enclosing the album and what materials you used.

    Thanking you in advance.

    Toni

    Like

    Reply
    • i am wondering the same thing toni bettencourt wrote about the drawers and cover shadow box were made and out of what materials

      thank you
      mandip

      Like

      Reply
      • The drawers were made of paper and are based on matchbook drawers, just bigger. I wanted to make 4 drawers so I took some measurements and started to play. Sorry I do not have the album anymore so I cannot give you exact measurements but what I did was made 1 drawer approx 7″ long x 2″ wide and another 3 drawers approx 2 1/4″ x 3″. I glued the sleeves for the 4 drawers together and then glued them as 1 piece onto the back cover of the mini album. Also I removed the last page of the album to allow room for the drawers. I was thinking that the long drawer would be good for a pen and the smaller ones for decorative pieces. In the front I simply made a shadow box out of paper and glued it into the cover. By adding the flaps that I used to hold the album closed the shadow box looks more complicated then it is. The flaps are simply 2 layers each, scored in the middle and overlapped onto the front and back covers that you will cover with paper. I wanted a magnetic closure so that is why I made the flaps 2 pieces so I could hide the magnet between the layers.

        I do not have the mini album anymore so I will do my best to give you close measurements. The cover closes with a magnet so you will need several layers to hide the magnet. Starting with the front cover take a piece of card stock 9″ wide by 7″ long and scor in half at the 3 1/2″ mark. Repeat this again for the back piece. Now glue 1 piece to the front of the album and the other to the back of the album, both pieces must me on the outside covers. For the back you can cover-up the seam with a piece of paper the size of the back cover. For my album I actually build a shadow box and glued that into the front. For the magnet start by gluing a magnet to the inside of the flap attached to the back of the album and then cover-up the magnet with a trip of paper approx 9 ” x 3 1/2″. I usually position the magnet as close to the center of the flap as possible but I have also used a series of magnets placed in a line. That part is up to you. They are expensive. Now, close both flaps so that the bottom flap is on the inside with the flap on the top cover being on the outside. Glue a 2nd magnet over top of the first. They will find themselves and stick. I usually find out where the first magnet is first and then get my glue out. Now all you have to do is cover-up the second magnet with another strip of paper. I also added a Tim Holtz pull for decoration but you don’t have to do that if you don’t want to.

        Hopefully this answers your questions.

        Crafty Hugs,
        Joann

        Like

  10. do you sell kits for this album

    Like

    Reply
  11. Angela Kay Hartley

    absolutely love your design!! I tried to get added to your email list but it stated that there were so many pending that the rest have been blocked!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Angela,

      I just tried to add you myself and there seems to be a problem with your email address and WordPress. I also got the message that you have a lot of pending subscriptions that you need to activate or delete. You can go to https://subscribe.wordpress.com/ to fix these. For WordPress blogs when you want to sign-up to follow a blog you have to respond to an email that is sent confirming the subscription. Maybe these confirmation emails got caught in your spam folder.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.