The Magic of Christmas

Hi everyone,

I have a version of a magic box that I am excited to share with you today.  I have seen some beautiful boxes that others have created so I decided to try my own little twist on one : )  The two major differences I did was, I used matchboxes instead of open shelves and I added an extra flap/panel that closes with a magnet instead of using ribbon to hold the box closed.

Joann-Larkin-Magic-Box

Joann-Larkin-Magic-Box-Closeup

For the inside I wanted you to see that the drawers opened just in case you might like to include a little surprise inside : )

Joann-Larkin-Magic-Box-Open

Heartfelt Creations Product and Products Carried by HC:

HCDP1 236 – Christmas Card Paper Collection
HCD 717 – Layered Scalloped Posy Die
HCD 738 – Ornamental Add On Die
HCPC 3415 – Petite Poinsettia PreCut Set
HCPC 3551 – Holly Berry PreCut Set
HCPC 3554 – Love at Christmas PreCut Set

Other Products Used:

Layered Pointsettia, Opulant Ovals, Fleur de Lis Squares, Picot Edge Circles, Glitter Sparkling Ice,  Card stock, Distressed Ink, Bling from my stash, 3D Foam dots, adhesive and die cutting machine.

Instructions: Take a piece of card stock 6 3/4″ x 12″ and score and the 3″, 6″ and 9″ marks. Cut another piece of card stock 6 3/4″ x 5″ and score at the 3″ mark and attach to the first piece so you have 5, 3″ wide panels.

To create the individual drawers make match book boxes with the following dimensions 5 9/16″ square and score on all sides at the 1 1/2″ mark.  For the wrapper of the drawers, cut a piece of card stock 9″ x 4 1/4″. To score the card stock, make a mark on the paper at 2 3/4″, and then measure another 1 9/16″ and make your second mark. Repeat this again continuing along the piece of paper and then score on the marks.

For the DP both inside and outside, simply cut pieces 6 1/2″ x 2 3/4″.

The topper is made using 4 pieces of card stock 3 1/4″ x 3 1/4″ rounded at the top.  I made myself a pattern so I could round the top of all 4 the same.  Measure up 1 inch from the bottom and draw a line and then at the top, mark a point at the center.  Join all 4 together to from a triangle and then score on the lines you just made.

Decorate the box topper by cutting 8 individual die cuts from the Layered Scalloped Posy Die and then stamp, die cut and assemble your flowers and attach to your project.  Lightly distress ink the edges and add any further embellishments as desired.

Thanks so much for stopping by today : )   I love to read your comments, thank you so much!

joann sig 2

About Castlepark Designs

My name is Joann and I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia with my husband Miles. We have one son who is in the Royal Canadian Navy. I have worked full time in the Finance and Insurance industry for the past 29 years. I absolutely adore all things paper & glue and have been involved with crafting in some way for most of my life. I have a great admiration for creating projects from paper that may not necessarily be made from paper. When not in my craft room, I enjoy spending time at our cottage enjoying all that nature and suburban life has to offer.

10 responses »

  1. this is just amazing!!!!! So creative and gorgeous!~!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Astoundingly beautiful! I have always loved this kind of design. Thanks for the instructions.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh my this is just fantastic, cool design, awesome papers and the embellishing of the top of the box is just amazing, great, wonderful details!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is absolutely beautiful!! Love everything about it!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. This is amazing. I just love all the little boxes inside.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hehe you have done it again my friend! Excelled beyond all expectations! I am saving your lovely Tutorial too. Thank you so much for including this. This is a real gem! Heartfelt are so lucky to have you! Judy x

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lovely box. I am going to try your tutorial.

    Like

    Reply
  8. WOW Miss Joanne,this is freaking GORGEOUSSSSS, the ouside is STUNNING then when it opens it’s fantastic, I tried to make one kind of like this, it was so wonky, funny actually,I can’t stop admiring it on the large setting of course,..It has me mesmerized. excellent work,boy I bet they are glad they picked you, I am.. thanks for sharing..

    Like

    Reply
  9. Gorgeous box, wow This is great. I love it with the matchboxes, much sturdier looking. I did one with the larger open boxes and loved doing it, but I will be giving this a try for sure too. TFS
    Hugz Tonniece

    Like

    Reply
  10. Love,love this box….so much so that I am attempting to make several as Christmas hostess gifts for creative friends….I am having trouble with two areas and need your advise….do not quite understand how the topper was made (I have 6 made but not happy with them). It’s the shape I am having trouble with… Second how did you attach the matchboxes? I am using the die cut from SU, with the drawer opening there is only a cs frame to adhere glue, tape etc to…some advise please and I would love a pattern for the topper. ALL your projects are delightful….thank you so much
    Amy d

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.